Day 1- Mantoloking to Cap May...Finally!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Sanibel Island
October 15th 2008
Published: October 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Nervousness, anticipation, happiness, excitement, scared, and proud, all feelings going through me at the same time during our first day on our journey home from Mantoloking, NJ to Captiva Island, FL. The last time I was on this boat it was a disaster. After trying to pull out of the marina and crashing into the dock and another boat, I was hesitant to try it again this time, especially without help. Nevertheless, Walt started up the boat, I figured if we can’t do it here then we’re not going to be able to do it anywhere else so let’s give it a shot. Walt was amazing and I did absolutely nothing! I ran around the boat anticipating each and every bump or crash but it was perfect! Walt was perfect! He brought the boat from the dock to the gas pump without bumping into anything. I was amazed. At that point I was ready to go and I knew the boat was too.

After fueling up we took off around 10am up the channel to Manesquan Inlet and out to the North Atlantic. It was a nice and easy ride under a couple of bridges and through a tight opening of a railroad bridge to the ocean. Once we got out there it started getting a bit rough but nothing we haven’t been through before. After about an hour the clouds cleared, the sun came out, and we were about half way to Atlantic City. We could see the buildings rising out of the water and it was around then when we lost our satellite signal. Then it came back in, then out, then in, then out, then in, then finally just out. No Satellite. None. We did it the old fashioned way from Atlantic City to Cape May with the charts out, checking bouys and markers. It was a little stressful but we made it through with no problems. We arrived safely at Canyon Club Resort Marina around 4pm.

A few thoughts during the ride...the seas were a little rough throughout the trip and my stomach started feeling a little weasy. I'd look over to the left and see rolling waves, approximately 3-5 feet, not too big but when you are used to the flat Gulf waters it just makes you nervous. If I looked towards the shore there were roller coasters and ferris wheels littered along the shoreline. I swear every major area had it's own Jersey Shore playground. Basically if I looked out to sea I felt like I was on a roller coaster, if I looked at land I saw roller coasters...it was just wierd.

We had absolutely nothing to eat until dinner @ 7pm. We were hungary to say the least...Walt was ready to eat my arm. We got a cab into downtown Cape May which was beautiful. Historic Victorian style homes from the 1800's lined the streets. The cabbie was nice enough to give us a little tour of the area before dropping us at the pedistrian mall just off the beach. We stopped at a little bar called "The Ugly Mug" after dinner then headed back to the boat.

I have to add (because it's so funny now when I look back) Walt had a little freak out session as we lost satellite...I think his exact words were "WE'RE FUCKED!, WE'RE FUCKED!" But that's why he brought me. The yin to the yang. I calmed him down and we made it to Cape may safely. Yay!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb