The Sunshine State... Ahh!


Advertisement
Published: July 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I LOVE America!

Florida is the third state I've been to and I wasn't disappointed at all. The people were very friendly and the food... Oh! The food! Just thinking about the American food makes me drool! Steaks, Doritos, and blue Oreos! Couldn't believe it when I saw blue Oreos in Walmart! Anyway, enough about food!

On the 29th of June 2010, I left Dublin for a 9-hour flight to Orlando and this was my first time on the plane by myself (I'm eighteen by the way :D) Slept the whole way through, ahh! When I arrived, I couldn't believe the amount of security checks I had to go through before I got out of the airport. An hour and a half after I arrived, I finally got out of the airport, met my swim coach and we set off on our way to St. Petersburg.

I signed up for a swim camp in St. Petersburg (including participating in a swimming competition) for two weeks. I had 2 days off during my stay. Day one- Shop, shop, shop til I drop (almost!). I went to a shopping mall (Eccleston?) and bought clothes at brand named shops (hollister, american eagle etc. I'm ashamed :S) It is so cheap here in america! Clothes for 5 dollars! :O The second day off- we went to SeaWorld Aquatic park. I was disappointed. I went in with high expectations though, expecting a huge park with amazing rides that make my jaw drop to the floor. It was small compared to the waterpark in Ayia Napa, Cyprus. I enjoyed it though, thanks to my friends.

Beside these two days off, we had some small outings. We went go-karting. We went to a shooting range; it was awesome! Guns are banned in Ireland so it was an unforgettable experience for us to even see a gun, let alone use one! We also had a 4th july BBQ despite lashing rain and thunderstorms.

Florida is an unforgettable experience and I would love to return to the place again. The next time, I hope to go to a major theme park :D

God bless America (and its food!) =D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb