Week between dives


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Pompano Beach
October 21st 2010
Published: October 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Working for the weekend!







I haven't dove again this week, however I have accomplished a fair amount.
On Monday evening (after a day full of studying), I successful complete my first dive certification! A dive certification I actually wasn't planing on having, Enriched Air, also know as "Nitrox". The air in a regular diving tank is the same as the air we breath only compressed; 21%!o(MISSING)xygen and 79%!n(MISSING)itrogen. Breathing nitrogen under pressure means your body is accumulating it in your body and this is why there is a limited amount of time a diver can stay at a certain depth and why divers must wait a calculated amount of time between dives in order for the nitrogen to leave the body. Nitox is a difference percentage mix between oxygen and nitrogen and specifically enriched air is a mixture with a higher percentage of oxygen then 21%! (MISSING)Enriched air allows for longer bottom time without mandatory decompression stops and more frequent dives. All this to say, I can now dive with enriched air! My first dive will be on Saturday for my deep dive and the search/recover dive (which will complete my second certification: Advance open water).



On Tuesday I took a break from it all and went to the beach (I know I'm living such a hard life). The beach was great. I was able to walk down to a fishing pier, search for see glass (Kayleigh I have a story and picture for you later), and frolicked a little in the waves.



Today was another day of studying (and thankfully my last!). I took my last written exam today for my rescue certification and did quite well! Almost perfect, except one little badly worded question got me. But I was top in my class.... aka the one other guy in the class got two wrong.
I'm happy the book word is done, as much fun as it was learning.... I was nervous about all the multiple choice questions on the tests. And now it's all fun stuff from here on!
Tomorrow is pool work for the rescue course and this weekend is.... DIVE DIVE DIVE! YAY!

More updates then!

Advertisement



21st October 2010

Come up for some air on the weekend. xoxox
21st October 2010

Nitrox Certification
Congratulation on the certification, I am very proud of you. Tell me is the air in the enriched oxygen tank hotter? : D
21st October 2010

could be and it could not be... all depends on what the temperature is when you fill it up and what the pressure is. When you fill up a nitrox tank its usual to wait five minutes for it too cool down so you can top it up more. Ex a take has 3700 psi when you pick it up at the shop (fresh from being filled), but you jump into the 65 degree water and BAM! its down to 3000.
22nd October 2010

Congradulation,s Brianna Good job I knew you could do it

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb