The Blue Angels and More Festivals – Pensacola FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Pensacola
May 3rd 2016
Published: May 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

The Visitor Is Greeted By A Really Cool SculptureThe Visitor Is Greeted By A Really Cool SculptureThe Visitor Is Greeted By A Really Cool Sculpture

Stennis Space Center and INFINITY Science Center - Pearlington MS
The drive from Lapeyrouse Seafood Bar, Grocery & Campground in Chauvin LA to the Pensacola RV Park in Pensacola FL was a longer-than-preferred drive (266 miles and about 5 hours), and I extended the trip by making a stop at the NASA Stennis Space Center and the INFINITY Science Centerin Pearlington MS. I have passed the attraction numerous times and have wondered about its nature; but, although it is only a couple hundred yards from I-10 and is adjacent to a Mississippi tourism information facility, I have never taken the time to check it out. Not having planned any stops, the space enthusiast in me succumbed to a knee-jerk reaction and pulled off I-10.

The John C. Stennis Space Center (SSC) is a NASA rocket testing facility located on the banks of the Pearl River and, at 13,500 acres, is NASA's largest rocket engine testing facility. The initial requirements for NASA's proposed facility required the site to be located between the rockets' manufacturing site in eastern New Orleans LA and the launch complex at Cape Canaveral FL – since 1963, the Kennedy Space Center. Also, since the rocket motors that launched Apollo were too large for overland transport, the site required barge access. This area
Three Of The Engine Test StandsThree Of The Engine Test StandsThree Of The Engine Test Stands

Stennis Space Center and INFINITY Science Center - Pearlington MS
was selected because it was thinly populated and met all other NASA requirements. NASA announced formation of the facility on October 25, 1961; however, before construction began, five small communities (a combined 700 families) had to be relocated. The acquisition also included 3,200 parcels of privately owned land, 786 residences, 16 churches, 19 stores, three schools and a wide assortment of commercial buildings. Remnants of the communities, including city streets and a one-room school house, still exist within SSC. The test area is surrounded by an additional 125,000-acre acoustical buffer zone.

The large concrete and metal rocket propulsion test stands were originally used to test-fire the first and second stages of the Saturn V rockets which propelled U.S. astronauts to the moon. Starting in 1971, all Space Shuttle Main Engines were flight-certified at Stennis. With the end of the Apollo and the Shuttle programs, use of the base has decreased and has resulted in adverse economic impact to the surrounding communities. Over the years, other government organizations and commercial entities have moved onto and from the facility. Today, there are over 30 local, state, national, international, private, and public companies and agencies using SSC for their rocket testing.
Numerous Replica Models And Interactive Exhibits Are On DisplayNumerous Replica Models And Interactive Exhibits Are On DisplayNumerous Replica Models And Interactive Exhibits Are On Display

Stennis Space Center and INFINITY Science Center - Pearlington MS

Admission to the INFINITY Science Center includes a behind-the-scenes bus tour of the Stennis Space Center. The hour long (+/-) bus tour took the group through the facility as the interesting guide told the group about the landmarks within the facility. Seeing the testing site was interesting for this enthusiast; however, for most – probably not so much. The 72,000 square-foot INFINITY Science Center features interactive exhibits including those about NASA, space, planets, stars, weather, space travel and space exploration. The displays include a full-sized International Space Station module, a cutaway model of the Orion spacecraft and components from a space-flown RS-25 Space Shuttle Main Engine. Outdoor displays include an F-1 rocket engine, a tsunami buoy, and U.S. Navy riverine training boat. Although interesting for “spacy” adults, the INFINITY Science Center definitely is child-oriented.

The trip from Chauvin to Pearlington was uneventful and took place under heavily overcast skies; however, the post-SSC leg of the trip found me dealing with a constant light rainfall and some intermittent heavy cloudbursts. Of course, my arrival at the RV park was later than the norm and later than I had originally anticipated.

The weather forecast led me to select Friday for exploring Historic Pensacola Village in, youbetya, Pensacola. That same forecast, highs in the nineties with high humidity, coupled with low expectations for a significant morning rush hour in Pensacola, led me to decide to get an early start for my visit. I immediately found a curbside parking spot a few yards from the attraction headquarters. I was about thirty minutes ahead of a scheduled docent-led tour and took that time to visit a neighboring building that was not included on the guided tour. The tour group included me and a “let’s take the kids to …” group of three young women and about 7 or 8 children under the age of ten – with all but 2 under the age of six. I don’t know what I might have done were I the parent in charge, but I DO KNOW what my father would have done and, in 2016, he would have been incarcerated. This attraction is TOTALLY inappropriate for preschool children and STROLLERS and, in my opinion, it was totally inconsiderate for the parents to bring the children to the attraction.

That having been said, the village appears to be an interesting lesson in Pensacola history; however, the village is comprised of a selection of buildings within the greater community vs. a singular entity unto its own – i.e., one of the “village” properties might be next door to a privately owned residential, commercial or office property. When the tour was completed, I asked the docent for a recommendation for lunch. She noted a couple of eateries, and then informed me that a couple of blocks over the 32nd Annual Pensacola Crawfish Festival was underway. A festival, count me in! Although I still had a helping of crawfish in my refrigerator which I had inherited after a crawfish boil with my Cajun friends in Houma LA, I fully expected there would be more than crawfish available. There was, and I got a helping of fried alligator with a side of jambalaya.

I set out on a “Schoolless Saturday” to take a scenic drive and to visit two attractions. I had two other attractions located in Milton FL that I had earmarked as “add-ons” if there was time remaining. On my way to the first attraction, Irene (my GPS) unexpectedly took me through Milton and past the Arcadia Mill, which interested me from an historical agricultural perspective, and the Imogene Theatre & Museum of Local History, which interested me from an architectural perspective. The road signage for the Arcadia Mill touted “archaeological ruins” which (unless prehistoric) really don’t interest me very much, and the Imogene Theatre (open by appointment, which I had not made) looks quite plain and ordinary. The “add-ons” became “subtract-offs!” Onward to my first planned stop, the Heritage Museum of Northwest Florida in Valparaiso FL.

I am amazed at how many communities throw a party when Uncle Larry comes to town; but Valparaiso did and the Heritage Museum of Northwest Florida was smack dab in the middle of the festivities. Of course, parking was almost non-existent. After a short conversation with the police officer manning the roadblock, I headed for my second stop – the Destin History & Fishing Museum in, ta-dah, Destin FL. Destin, known as the self-proclaimed "World's Luckiest Fishing Village," houses the largest and most elaborately equipped fishing fleet in the State of Florida and traces its recorded history to a fisherman, Captain Leonard Destin, who moved to Florida from New London CT about 1845. Destin was an isolated community which had to wait until the mid-twentieth century for the arrival of electricity, telephones and even roads to outside destinations. The museum has an extensive collection of photographs and information about the
A Cobra Gunship Guards “The Wall” ReplicaA Cobra Gunship Guards “The Wall” ReplicaA Cobra Gunship Guards “The Wall” Replica

Veterans Memorial Park – Pensacola FL
modern history of the village and has a few dozen mounted fish specimens housed in display cases – “all of which were caught locally,” the attendant reminded me several times. The attendant also provided an interesting, comprehensive historical narrative of the community. I hope that information finds its way to the web site! For those interested in local history or those interested in seeing mounted fish specimens, the museum will make an interesting stop. For others, probably not so much.

Since I had eliminated my “add-ons” and since my plans to visit one attraction had been aborted, I had plenty of discretionary time and, thusly, decided to take a leisurely drive along the coast and return to the Crawfish Festival for some more seafood. As I approached downtown Pensacola, I happened upon Veterans Memorial Park. This very nice attraction honors all the veterans of all the wars and includes a scale replica of The Wall. I spotted anther memorial across the street and walked over to discover that it is the National Memorial to Missing Children. I had no notion that such a memorial even existed but am surely glad that it does in spite of the fact that I have never been personally affected by such a catastrophe. Oh yes, parking was crazy near the Crawfish Festival, so I called it a day.

On a “Schoolless Sunday” I headed for the National Naval Aviation Museum in Pensacola. Actually, this attraction was the primary reason I had decided to spend a week in Pensacola. I had wanted to become a naval aviator when I was in high school; however, that didn’t work out as I had hoped, but aviation in general and naval aviation specifically still hold a great interest for me. In addition, Naval Air Station (NAS) Pensacola is home to the Blue Angels – the U.S. Navy's flight demonstration squadron. The information I had on record indicated the squadron practices on Wednesdays and, since I travel on Wednesdays, I would miss the practice; however, I still wanted to see the museum.

I had a wait of about 20 minutes before the designated time for a trolley tour of the outside artifacts and spent the time in the lobby looking at a vast array of aircraft carrier models depicting the various classes of ships and tracing carrier evolution through the years. There was mention and a photograph of LPH-2, USS Iwo Jima aboard which I
A Small Selection Of Plaques From The Cubi BarA Small Selection Of Plaques From The Cubi BarA Small Selection Of Plaques From The Cubi Bar

National Naval Aviation Museum – Pensacola FL
briefly and intermittently served off the coast of Vietnam. A sample of naval aircraft hangs from the ceiling. Soon it was time to board the trolley. The outdoor specimens, for the most part, have yet to be restored and are duplicated inside the museum with restored specimens. The narrative offered by the driver was interesting and informative; however, a clear view of only half of the aircraft was offered. Okay boys and girls, can anybody guess why? For the average tourist, the time spent on the trolley tour would be better spent inside the museum.

Once back inside, I had about an hour before the guided indoor tour began, so I headed for The Cubi Bar Café to hold me over during the 2 to 3-hour tour. The eatery’s decor and layout duplicates the bar area of the famous Cubi Point Officers’ Club in the Republic of the Philippines that was “party central” for Navy and Marine Corps squadrons, ships and units as they passed into the Western Pacific. The club was especially famous for its Plaque Bar, where transiting squadrons retired old plaques and commissioned new ones to commemorate each WestPac (militarese for Western Pacific) tour. The tradition
This SB2U Vindicator Is The Only Specimen In The World Known To Exist This SB2U Vindicator Is The Only Specimen In The World Known To Exist This SB2U Vindicator Is The Only Specimen In The World Known To Exist

National Naval Aviation Museum – Pensacola FL
of placing plaques in the bar was started during the Vietnam War and endured until the closing of the base in 1992 at which time the artifacts were given to the museum to be placed as they were when the Cubi Club was closed. Pretty cool!

My museum tour was conducted by a retired Marine Corps Colonel who told me he flew both fixed wing and rotary wing aircraft (helicopters) but spent more years in rotary wing squadrons. Right off the bat, he acknowledged that members of the group would join and leave at will and as each individual’s schedule dictated. He offered very interesting anecdotes about many of the aircraft, added stories about some of the events and personalities associated with those aircraft and pointed out features of the aircraft that had not been included on the accompanying placard. After two hours, the group took a short break after which we walked to Hangar Two which houses most of the aircraft of particular interest to me – those from the Vietnam era. The entire tour lasted about three hours fifteen minutes. Excellent and highly recommended for whatever time is available for all whose interest level brought them to
Now, That Is Precision!Now, That Is Precision!Now, That Is Precision!

Blue Angels Flight Demonstration Squadron Practice - Pensacola FL
the museum in the first place.

I also learned during the walking tour that the Blue Angels (with aviators from the Navy and the Marines) practice on Tuesdays AND Wednesdays. I guess my recorded information was as antiquated as I! Of course, I returned on Tuesday in spite of the marginal weather – the forecast indicated little chance of rain, but another mitigating factor is the cloud ceiling which could cause the practice to be cancelled. The show went forward and was a great experience. I went back inside the museum for some free-lance touring and purchased the Blue Angels X4D® Theater Experience. It was interesting and is recommended for those without similar experiences, but, having been spoiled on a first cousin, the Space Shuttle launch simulator at the Kennedy Space Center, I cannot HIGHLY recommend the Blue Angels X4D® Theater Experience – as noted, for those who have had a similar experience.

I paused at the MaxFlight 360 3D Flight Simulators and decided, “What the hell, you only live once!” This experience lasts only four minutes and costs twenty dollars, but WHAT AN EXPERIENCE! The only other experience I have had on The Great Adventure that belongs in the same paragraph is the bobsled experience at Lake Placid NY in 2012. I am not a big fan of roller coasters because, I believe, I am not in control. In the flight simulator, I WAS in control. While awaiting my turn, I was able to “practice” with identical controls but was told the real controls are much more responsive than the practice controls. Indeed, THEY ARE! After being secured with lap and shoulder restraints and a short learning curve with the VERY sensitive stick, I took the “aircraft” on a 360-degree vertical loop, banked the “airplane” on its port (left) side for a 360-degree horizontal loop and flipped her to the starboard (right) side for another 360-degree horizontal loop. I was just beginning a second vertical loop when the computer took over and safely place me back on the ground. WHAT A HOOT!!! The only things missing were the G-forces an actual flight would bring. Blue Angels, sign me up for a back seat ride!

As I was departing the Naval Air Station, I stopped at the Pensacola Lighthouse & Museum. Normally, the lighthouse would have been at the top of my attraction list; however, the lighthouse is under renovation.
Final Instructions Before Take-OffFinal Instructions Before Take-OffFinal Instructions Before Take-Off

National Naval Aviation Museum – Pensacola FL
I have information that, under normal circumstances, one can watch the Blue Angels practice from the lantern room of the lighthouse. That would be a hoot and is something to keep in mind for future reference. I was only able to visit the museum portion of the attraction – the keepers’ quarters. It’s an attractive lighthouse and is worth a stop even if the tower is unavailable for climbing.

Between the Sunday and Tuesday visits to the National Naval Aviation Museum, I made a drive to Andalusia AL to visit with my cousin and his wife. One route north and a different route south. I had a very nice day and had a nice week in Pensacola, in spite of the persistent cloud cover. Fortunately, it is on my way from almost anywhere to visit my aunt in Sanford FL and only a day trip from my cousin in Alabama. After a week in Pensacola, I had earmarked a week for Sanford such that I will spend Mother’s Day with my 93-year-young aunt. The drive from Pensacola to Sanford was long, as I had expected (438 miles and about 9 hours); however, I arrived at the Clark Family Campground in Orange City FL without any flies in the proverbial ointment. My historical RV park, Town and Country RV Resort in Sanford, was sold and the land was converted into a subdivision for site-built homes. Clark Family Campground is not as convenient to Sanford, but it will get the mission accomplished. I spent four winters in Sanford, have seen everything the area has to offer and will be spending my free time with my family; so there will be no blog from Sanford. I’ll see y’all in Albany GA.


Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 33


Advertisement

The Emblems From All NASA Manned Flights Are On DisplayThe Emblems From All NASA Manned Flights Are On Display
The Emblems From All NASA Manned Flights Are On Display

Stennis Space Center and INFINITY Science Center - Pearlington MS
The Ill-Fated Apollo XIIIThe Ill-Fated Apollo XIII
The Ill-Fated Apollo XIII

Stennis Space Center and INFINITY Science Center - Pearlington MS
STS-51L - RIP Space Shuttle Challenger CrewSTS-51L - RIP Space Shuttle Challenger Crew
STS-51L - RIP Space Shuttle Challenger Crew

Stennis Space Center and INFINITY Science Center - Pearlington MS
STS-107 – RIP Space Shuttle Columbia CrewSTS-107 – RIP Space Shuttle Columbia Crew
STS-107 – RIP Space Shuttle Columbia Crew

Stennis Space Center and INFINITY Science Center - Pearlington MS
The 1920s Kitchen Is Nicely FurnishedThe 1920s Kitchen Is Nicely Furnished
The 1920s Kitchen Is Nicely Furnished

Historic Pensacola Village – Pensacola FL
I Don’t Remember Having Seen A Washing Machin Quite Like ThisI Don’t Remember Having Seen A Washing Machin Quite Like This
I Don’t Remember Having Seen A Washing Machin Quite Like This

Historic Pensacola Village – Pensacola FL


Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb