Magical Weekend


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
March 7th 2008
Published: March 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Pleasure IslandPleasure IslandPleasure Island

Right after the surprise, I'm glowing...
Early last week my teammate Peter and I decided that we wanted to take a trip up to Disney World for the weekend. So last Friday we rented a car and drove 2 hours north to Orlando. We went straight to Downtown Disney at 9:30pm when we arrived, trying to make the most of our short weekend get-a-way. I was so excited to be in Disney that I had to call Sandra and “rub it in.” When I say rub it in, I mean that in the nicest possible way. She didn’t answer her phone when I called, and figuring that since it was a Friday night she would be out doing something fun, I didn’t think twice about her not answering her phone. Less than a minute later she called me back, so I had the chance to tell her where I was, and what I was doing, I couldn’t talk for long though because I didn’t want to be rude to Peter. We left Downtown Disney and headed for Pleasure Island. Peter answered a phone call as we were walking and after about 2 minutes of talking about where we were he handed the phone over to me claiming
PiratesPiratesPirates

we are pirates
it was for me. Confused I asked who it was and he told me that it was his mother. “Hello” I answered. “Are you wearing a Buffalo hoodie?” the high pitched squeaky voice asked, “Um, yes” I responded incredibly confused and creped out by Peters “mom.” “That’s a very nice Buffalo Hoodie.” The voice said again. “Um, ok thanks?” I replied, and not wanting to talk anymore handed the phone back to Peter completely baffled and perturbed by the conversation, or lack there of, that I had just had with his mom. Peter snatched the phone back quickly said something and then hung up. After he got off I asked him who it was that I was talking to because I didn’t believe that it was actually his mom. “Who do you think it was he asked?” “It kinda sounded like Sandra? (but how or why would he have her number and be talking to her) or William?” I responded. “Well it wasn’t William” he told me. “Was it Sandra?!?” I asked. “Yes” he responded with a big smirk on his face. “What??!! It was Sandra? Huh? Is she here now?” “Yes” he responded quickly still with the big smirk on his face. “What? She is here? What?” I kept asking, confused, with a huge smile on my face. Just then she popped around the corner and was there. WOW! I had no idea. Apparently this little last minute trip to Disney was only last minute to me. Sandra was the brains behind the operation and had been planning it for a month; secretly going behind my back calling my team leader asking him to arrange for some people to get me to Disney without me knowing that she was going to be there to surprise me. I was shocked and couldn’t believe what had just happened. I haven’t seen her since Christmas break so it was nice getting to see her and spend the weekend with her. It was a super fast weekend though but we were able to hit all of the parks in the 2 days that we were there. We just sacrificed a lot of sleep and returned home exhausted. But it was all worth it and a very “magical” weekend.

Then On Monday, to add on to the excitement of my weekend, we got a day off from work courtesy of County Commissioner Doug
Jimminy CricketJimminy CricketJimminy Cricket

always let your conscience be your guide
Coward who gave us tickets to a Mets vs. Braves spring training game! We all had a great time chilling in the County suite box, eating hot dogs and watching baseball. Go Mets, I guess.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Hi MomHi Mom
Hi Mom

talking to mom on the phone
Team picTeam pic
Team pic

at the game


7th March 2008

awesome
thats awesome!!! jess, hill and i think it is so cute that sandra was planing the whole thing! i hope you had fun. i love the london pic...hey, now mom and dad cant get mad at you ;)
7th March 2008

disney world
Hi, what a pleasant surprise for you. I am sure it was quite exciting for you to meet up with Sandra. Life is good. And yes you cheered for the right team Go Mets. As you can see I am not Yankees fan. lol Gram
7th March 2008

Funtastical!!!!!!!!!
Wow! Aren't friends the GREATEST thing on the face of the earth???!!!!!!! What a lot of fun and laughs you all must have had! Thanks for letting the rest of your "friends" share in your FUN! HUGS!!!!! gb
7th March 2008

so happy
We were so happy this all worked out!!! Sandra was so excited planning all of this. We were all jealous that you were there and we weren't though. Good luck with the rest of your spike. The Hajts
7th March 2008

What a great Birthday Surprise!!!
Hey girl, I just have one question. What is the big cloud of smoke coming out of your head while you are talking to me on the phone??? I am so glad you have such a fun weekend. Love, Mom
8th March 2008

Sooo jealous
That is just too cool...leave it to Sandra. Those memories will last a lifetime. Wish I was with you where it's warm, we got a foot of snow in the last day. Luv Ya, Dad
13th March 2008

lucky
hi i finally just opened my email for the first time in about 2 months. i would just like to say i think you and sandra have the cutest friendship. I hope my friends will someday go out of there way to surprise me like that, it looks like you guys had so much fun!

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0844s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb