A very random weekend!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
October 29th 2007
Published: October 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Y...M...C...A!Y...M...C...A!Y...M...C...A!

The crowd get taught the YMCA by the masters, the Village People!
Hello everybody!!

This weekend has been one of extreme randomness and general craziness. After a week of training at the Grand Floridian, my brain was just about ready to explode - as were those of my friends who were in a similar situation - so come Saturday we needed to have some fun. First of all though was class!! This is week two of my lectures at UCF and so far they are going well. Despite having been promised faithfully that there would be no homework, I do have 3 projects to complete, but ultimately I want to get the most possible out of this course so I'm determined to give it a go. 4 hours of learning on top of a long week at work made us all pretty tired though, so we decided to chill out by going to EPCOT....

...there is slightly more to this than just going on the rides!! At the moment EPCOT is holding its annual Food & Wine Festival where you can buy small samplers of lots of different munch and beverages from all around the world. Part of this is the 'Eat to the Beat' (!) concert series which has had some classic old performers come in and wow EPCOT's crowds in their varying stages of drunkenness. 2 weeks ago was Little Richard...this weekend, it was the turn of...The Village People!!! That's right, me and 6 friends were taught the YMCA by the masters of the world's most popular wedding/bar mitzvah song. It was all incredibly camp and we loved it.

Immediately afterwards was my first office party - Jerry, one of the bellmen from the Grand Flo, hosted his annual Halloween party at Deer Creek clubhouse near Sea World. Not having had time to get a costume, I was easily the most underdressed person at the entire do, and having only known a lot of these people for a few days I had a hard time recognising them in scary outfits!! But once the beer started flowing everyone chatted away to everyone, I got to know some of the other people my own age a bit better, and one of my housemates from last year was there, so it was all a lot of fun - even if the presence of 3 of my managers in crazy outfits did make me a little bit nervous!!

Yesterday, feeling slightly delicate after the previous night's festivities, I decided to head to Sea World to get my annual pass and spend the afternoon in the presence of my favourite marine mammals. I always have so much fun at that place that I can happily go by myself and still have a fantastic time. The killer whales were clearly in the mood yesterday as they put on a great show (me and my mum have seen it so many times now that we can tell whether they're being grumpy or not!!) and the dolphin show was amazing as always. I can't wait to go back again and spend a full day there.

Well time for me to go to work once more...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Katina like to partyKatina like to party
Katina like to party

Katina the killer whale puts it on for the crowds at Sea World


29th October 2007

Sounds great!
Hey Jess, sounds like your having a great time! Nice one - Sea World sounds great!
3rd November 2007

Heya Jess! SOunds liek your settling in really well - so jealous! Awesome blog - keep it going!! xx

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb