First Day Behind The Desk!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
October 23rd 2007
Published: October 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Spirit Fingers at Vista WaySpirit Fingers at Vista WaySpirit Fingers at Vista Way

Me, Jenny, Joey and Nikili pose beautifully.
Hello everybody!

Just a quick entry - before I get ready to go to work - on how my first day behind the Front Desk at the Grand Floridian went. I turned up about 40 minutes early absolutely terrified and with no idea of where I was supposed to go or where I should meet my trainer! Luckily I ran into Tatiana, a fellow trainee, and her trainer Hank, who showed me where to go and wait for my trainer, Shereene - who didn't no she was training me. D'oh! No matter, she is really very sweet and is showing me the ropes until Thursday.

The first time behind the desk was pretty scary but Shereene seems to think I'm doing good so I'm getting lots of practice. Although I was pretty alarmed when I was basically told to forget everything I had learnt at Disney University (oh good...) I have the technical side pretty wrapped up - it is just combining the technical and guest service elements into one seamless package. Little things, like always handing things back to the guest rather than putting them on the counter, seem so simple but are easy to forget when you've got so much to think about already. Still, everyone at work seems pretty cool and the managers seem nice too. I've already asked about organising a manager shadow so I can see what goes on with the big cheeses at some point, and they said they should be able to make some calls and sort that out for me which would be awesome.

Socially things are good too, I went out on Thursday night for the first time with my new camera which will forevermore be stapled to my person!! We all had a really good time and danced the night away before going to UCF for orientation and enrollment in our classes the next day. But more about that later, now it is time for me to go to work...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1017.8kb