First Impressions


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
October 18th 2007
Published: October 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Afternoon everybody!

Today is the fourth and final day of my training at Disney University on how to be a good checker-inner. Last year I thought there was a lot to remember being a vacation planner (fact fans: did you know there are over 100 different ticket combinations available at Walt Disney World?)...it turns out that there's even more when you are on the front desk! You need to know about ticketing AND check-in, check-out, in-house procedures, groups, retail packages, wholesale packages, blah blah blah....AND, do all this while remembering to say 'assist' instead of 'help' and call them 'guests', NOT customers. No wonder I am so exhausted at the moment, my brain is being overloaded with information!

My friend who I lived with last year was training me for the first couple of days which was pretty weird but fairly entertaining. We've had two different facilitators the past two days though which has made life more boring, but I finish today hooray!! I'm going to miss the hour and a half paid lunch breaks that are one of the perks of off-the-job training here, but I'm also now quite keen to get out into the resort and start
Great Beers of the WorldGreat Beers of the WorldGreat Beers of the World

The most important of all the stalls at the EPCOT Food & Wine Festival!
meeting real guests.

Outside of work, I've actually been making friends!! Shock horror!! Me & Joey went to an apartment party on Monday night and met some cool American guys who live just down the hall from them, and that was a lot of fun. Today is Nikila's birthday, and me & Joey's last day of getting up stupidly early for Disney University, so we're hosting our very own Vista Way party and then going to PI. Should be brilliant!

So earlier in the week I was meeting new friends, and last night I was catching up with old ones. Me and a summer 2006 veteran, Jim, went to check out the Food & Wine Festival at EPCOT. At the Festival they set up lots of extra food & drink stalls in the World Showcase and you can buy small samples of food from all around the world. I had a potato pancake with bacon from Ireland, barbecue shrimp from Australia (with obligatory pint of Fosters!) and an AMAZING maine lobster roll from the America stand. It all got a bit expensive but we had a great time and it was real nice to catch up after almost a year. I'll put photos up when I get home (I actually have a camera now! Woo!) of last night and hopefully tonight too.

Well it's almost time to go back to class now. After today I have orientation at University of Central Florida, one day off, then ON-the-job training begins...

xxx

Advertisement



23rd October 2007

Jessss!
Jess I miss you, you Northern imp! Good to see things are going well; keep in touch darling :) xxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb