Moving Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Naples
March 5th 2017
Published: March 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Blog 03-05-17 Moving Day

I didn't have to be out of the park until 1 pm so I had no intention of moving fast. Watson and I took a walk around the whole campground then had a nice breakfast. I talked on the phone to catch up then decided to get a new folding chair since there was a Walmart just down the road and I didn't know if I could find one around Naples. There was just enough time to shop then come home and pack up and head south.

I drove out of the park with 10 min to spare and decided to get gas down the road a ways. 75 was the interstate of choice and we were on and rolling down the road in no time. Then I started seeing signs about road closed ahead, how was that possible to close an interstate. It seems that there was a fatality early in the morning and the police had to investigate and they closed all lanes, north and south.

I followed the detour signs til there were no more than went to google maps which proceeded to route me down every little back road in the county. I was towing the car and can't back up so I was a little concerned where we were going. Finally, there were the signs for 75 south and traffic was moving that way. Hooray....

I arrived at Collier-Seminole state park just east of Marco Island about 4 pm and found my site and settled in, quickly. When I got out of the camper I was greeted by the Florida State bird, the mosquito. They were ferocious! The bug spray was handy so I took a bath in it and sprayed the dog too. It sure helped.

We walked around the park to get the lay of the land and worked out the traveling kinks. Our neighbors came over for a visit and they told me they sold their house and are now full time rvers. They love it so far, look forward to lots of years on the road.

As the sun went down more bugs came out so inside we went.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb