New Year's Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami Beach
January 2nd 2017
Published: January 2nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

New Years Day
01/17
After New Year's Eve I felt quite hungover. It didn't help by the fact that I was woken up at 7am by that creepy guy I mentioned. He was playing techno music through his headphones but it was so loud that the whole room could hear. What makes matters worse is that when I looked down at his bunk he was violently masturbating under his blanket!! I just rolled over and pretended to be asleep. Luckily I was on the top bunk. I woke up at around 10.30am. I got some food from 7 eleven and ate it by the beach. I went on the beach for an hour or so after that but it was very hot so could not stay out there for long. I was really craving a milkshake so decided to go to a diner and get one. I got a brownie flavoured one and it was literally one of the best milkshakes I've ever had!
The only person I knew in Miami was Mario. We met on a Disney cruise back in 2010 and stayed in loose contact since. When I visited Miami in 2011 with my mum we met up but other than that I didn't speak to him much. We were meant to see each other on NYE but he ended up doing stuff with his family. Yesterday he messaged me and asked what I was doing tonight (01/17). He invited me to a Miami Heat NBA game as he holds a season ticket and said he wanted to take me. Obviously I said yes and I was excited! After my milkshake I went back to the hostel to shower and get changed. He picked me up at 5.30pm and he was driving a white convertible Mercedes!! He drove us from south beach to the American Airlines arena which is in downtown miami. The drive was amazing and the views were great. He parked underneath the arena and skipped the whole queue which I found funny. So I didn't realise how rich he actually was but his season tickets were 6 rows from the court side!! We were so close. I thought it would be awkward seeing him again as we only met on a cruise and once after and didn't really talk in between but it was actually completely fine. We had a couple of drinks and some nachos. Miami heat lost but it was still an enjoyable game. We said our goodbyes at the arena and I got an uber back to south beach. Ben and Brandon were at the hostel and we decided to go for a couple of drinks as it was their last night. We went to lost weekend which is a sports bar for one drink and then we went to this cool outside bar for another. We said our goodbyes when we got back to the hostel which was quite sad as I had spent the past few nights with them! I realised that tomorrow night I will be on my own but I am quite excited about this as I know as soon as I get to South America it will be hectic!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb