Space X and Moving


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Lake Wales
February 19th 2017
Published: February 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Space X and a move

Saturday was overcast and watching the launch was iffy. Space X is scheduled to launch a re-supply mission to the space station and it is due to go off at 10:02 am. I have my site all picked out, the observation platform right next to my camper. I thought about driving south about an hour to get a good view but decided to not to go. Driving 2 hrs today and then leaving tomorrow was going to be too much driving and what if the flight didn't go, what a waste.

The platform started getting crowded as the launch time approached, my friends Judy and Larry came from the river side to watch with me and several other campers were there. Nice to see so much enthusiasm for a launch. The countdown got to 13 seconds when they put in a hold and scrubbed the launch for today. Boy, am I glad I didn't drive down the coast.

Judy and Larry stayed and talked for a while then another couple from Ontario came by to talk about my camper. They have a Pleasureway also but that is their camper for local travel. They have a class A too that they take to Florida and longer trips. Then another couple stopped by just to chat. It was wonderful visiting with everyone. The only unhappy one was Watson. He didn't get his walk on the beach yet and kept reminding me that I had a job to do.

So off to the beach we went. I talked to some fishermen that I have seen everyday, hunted shells, met new dogs and a few old ones. I took a picture of Dusty with Watson, another long hair that we have seen several days. I also took a picture of the little shells on the beach everyday, they look like fingernails. There were dolphins swimming today along with the usual pelicans, terns and noisy gulls. It was beautiful and I realized how much I'll miss the beach. Usually I'm ready to move along after 4 or 5 days in one place but not here. I've stayed 14 days and I could do another 14. The weather has been perfect, town is fun and just a little ways away, and there are endless photo opportunities. I can see why it's so hard to get a campsite here, it is like Paradise.

I put some outside furniture away, the rug, put stuff away inside so I didn't have a lot to do tomorrow when it was time to leave. It was supposed to rain and I didn't want to pack wet gear.

The weather started deteriorating so I decided to go to town and get my hair done. I look like a bush person with white stripes so it's time to seek out the local beautician. I finally found the Hair Cuttery shop and 3 hrs later walked out a new person. I had to wait 1/2 hour then it took 2 1/2 hrs to work miracles on me. I'm human again so it was worth it.

By the time I got back it was almost dark so I had dinner and watched a little tv.

Sunday we were in a fog bank. The Space X flight was scheduled to launch this morning at 9:38 am but I couldn't imagine it happening. But just as the weather lady said it would, about 9 am the sky started clearing. But then it clouded up again. We had the usual crowd at the observation platform but our cloud cover was looking bad. The launch time came, it went, and we didn't see it, bummer! It was a very successful launch but we didn't see a thing. Oh well, nothing will surpass the launch in September.

I had put away the fence for Watson, the rest of outside stuff and disconnected from water and electric so I was ready to go. I said goodbye to Judy and Larry and the couple from Ontario, visited the dump station, connected the car and off I went.

I headed south on 95 then west on 4 and south on 27 then hooked up with county 17 to alt. 17 and on for miles. The campground is in the middle of nowhere! It is even 3 1/2 miles to the campground once you check in at the ranger station, I never thought I'd get there.

After finding and parking on my campsite, connecting the water and electric I walked Watson around the campground to get rid of some of his energy. We then took a ride to the boat launch and campstore and talked to the ranger there about paddling my kayak here. He showed me the areas that I could go and said it was perfectly safe to use an inflatable. He also told me about 2 great spots to photograph sunsets, what a sweety.

I headed to the cowboy camp, having to get there before it closes at 4:30, so I had to get going. Again I drove down a secluded road that turned into a single lane sand road, over a wooden bridge, through the jungle and finally reached a parking lot. There was the gate to the ranch, so off we went. Yes, I took Watson, didn't see any signs that said no dogs. Again I walked a long way through a beautiful forest of old live oaks dripping with spanish moss. There were 2 signs on the way that talked about being back in 1875 and the cowboys were eager to share their experiences with you. We finally got there and the first thing I noticed was the sound of running water. 2 kids were working a hand pump that fed water to the animal trough, not work just good fun. The camp was laid out under several large oak trees, providing shade. There was a corral for the cattle, 3 babies and their moms, a steer and a bull. There was a beautiful white horse in a separate area just swishing flies and enjoying the shade. The living area of the camp was one roofed shelter, no sides, that contained 2 elevated beds and the end of a chuck wagon for their kitchen. There was a fire pit with coffee that had been brewing for 2 days and a pot for supper. There were some kids there and the cowboys were spending time showing them the guns. Then came the posing for pictures which I couldn't help jumping in on. The cowboys told the kids to look mean, here is the result.

Then came the "show us how to do the whip" request. The cowboys of Florida are know as crackers because they herded cattle by cracking their whip to round them up. Well, the big dude with the white shirt got up and cracked the whip so loud I thought Watson jumped out of his skin. He was TERRIFIED ! I tried to grab him to hold him but he was heading out of town as fast as he could. I did get him and held his ears for the 5 extra cracks that came next but it didn't seen to help much. We went over to the cattle and the one cow thought he was a wolf or something and butted the fence with it's horns. The poor dog, not a happy adventure. Pictures.

I drove around a little to get the lay of the land then decided to go back to the camper and do more exploring tomorrow.

2 men stopped by and asked about my camper saying they never heard of Pleasureway. They were impressed with the quality and amount of amenities the camper has. Funny how you get to talking to people along the way.

I decided to check to see if tv was available, I didn't think there was but wanted to check anyway. To my delight there are 20 some channels here, not all good but at least there is something.

My campsite,7, is nice and spacious and shaded by the oak trees. The bathroom is just behind me so if I decide to use it it's a quick walk. Picture

I have to move to site 6 tomorrow so I didn't set up completely. I'll be in that site til Friday morning.

I am going to try to publish this blog from the wifi at the camp store as I have little or no cell coverage. Boy is that frustrating. I had 5 bars at the shore. So if you need to get hold of me texting is best.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb