Key west


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys
June 26th 2012
Published: July 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday 26th of June I hate lying in bed all day it is my most hated thing to do. I will happily walk in to town to look around just to see the architecture and the shops and lifestyle if anything. But this does not interest Michael. He prefers to sit looking at a computer deciding exactly what he's doing and where he is going before he leaves. For this exact reason and the heat we have not gone out and looked around. It was hot, but it was overcast because of the tropical storm in the gulf of Mexico. I quite like the heat it is bearable you sweat a lot but as long as your drinking it's fine. Michael hates the heat with a passion this is the other reason we don't leave the room. Anyway enough bitching about my best friend. On this day whatever happened I was going to do something. We went to the pool in the morning. Having already had our breakfast of whatever left overs there were from the night before. The Pool at the hotel was strange, the deepest part was in the middle. That was only five foot as well so no diving possible, on to tennis ball throwing. After a good 30minutes in the pool it was about time for us both to Skype home. This as usual would take a good hour to two because I only contact rarely and there's normally a lot happened here and at home. Shorty after that we headed back to the room and put the tv on within five minutes Michael was asleep. He said he was ill I believe him. He was coughing and spluttering the night before and complaining of being hot and cold. So I wasn't going to sit and watch crap tv all day I headed over to the outlets.The amount of cheap stuff you could get out there was incredible. I went into Ross the same place I went in Miami but this time that had gadgets as well. I spent about an hour looking for shoes for my little step-sisters 18th birthday because they had loads of shoes in size 9s and 10s and she's got big feet. Shes going to kill me for telling you that but I think it's the thought that counts. Anyway apparently American sizes are bigger than English one so the wouldn't fit anyway. I ended up buying shoes with toes, which are so epic, for myself and some headphones. I went a little further down the road where I would find a pet shop selling micro pigs, snakes, spiders, lizards, mice, toy dogs, normal dogs, birds, fish basically everything. I must have spent another hour fussing all the animals especially the pigs. I mean how often do you get a pig the size of a small cat. They had a toy chiwouwa it was so small like a guinipig when it curled up to go to sleep it would fit in the palm of my hand. I decided there and then most things are so much cooler in miniature. I left promising Jeffrey the micro pig I shall return to scratch behind his ears again. On my way back to the hotel I stopped at Walmart and picked up some drinks to keep me hydrated. I arrived back to find Michael had just woken up. This was good we both got to do what we wanted to do. A bit more time spent by the pool chilling before it was time to go get showered ready for pre drinking. Cheap vodka as usual would be the beverage of choice for the pre lash. We were now pro's at the drinking games we were playing just not quite pro's at drinking. We went hitting the usual places. The Irish bar being a great start. A good pint of Guinness always kicks the night off nicely. The live band in there was definitely not as good as Chris and Dec though, they need to get themselves to key west. On to Fat Tuesday's the place that serves rocket fuel that tastes like orange juice. Went I went to the bar and spoke to the bar maid about the most alcoholic drink. She said it was (160 proof) which is 80% alcohol she said "Its barely legal" shortly followed by "Would you like another shot in it." That's like asking a pedophile to watch your child for a minute while you nip to the loo. The answer will of course be yes. We headed through to the back with our new drinks. Where we spotted a gaggle of girls, we decided to deploy the usual technique of sending in me first to break the ice with casual small talk and test the tables ,for some reason women don't seem to be threatened by me. Anyway if all looks well I will make a signal to bring in the high roller Michael who apologises for me if i was making a fool of myself usually the response is thats ok he's funny. Then its game on we're in and the count is in our favour. Turns out it was another hen party, we were talking to them for ages and got in some of there hen night photos. By the time they where ready to leave we had been invited to the wedding by the bride the brides mother and the maid of honour had written an invite on a table napkin cordially inviting us to the wedding on Thursday. Thing is it really seemed so genuine by the time they left we where properly considering going. After they left we thought we would go to the next bar. So I chinned my drink Michael didn't finish his so I decided to have the rest of his as well. What an idiot I am I'd forgotten then strength of those drinks dew to there taste. We got to the next bar were Michael informs me I was trying to order a beer and fell asleep at the bar. Michael then took us in a taxi home don't think I was in his good books, I can't remember getting home. Rich

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0926s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb