The Keys to our Hearts


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Key West
December 16th 2016
Published: February 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Who can resistWho can resistWho can resist

Even though it's winter and the water is chilly, I couldn't resist jumping into this big vat of loveliness at least once a day
It's warm in south Florida, the temperature is perfect. I've slept outside many times in the last couple weeks and in my car. Recently I decided to start a new chapter. I'm apprehensive, excited, and uncertain. So here I am. Typing words into a machine. MACHINES FUCK YEAH! It's been about six years since my last post, a bit of life happened. Another year in NZ, three months in Thailand, two years in Ohio near where I grew up, and nearly three years in West Palm Beach, Florida working at a dive shop. Now you're caught up. I've wanted to see Mexico and Central America for a long time, so here I go with Ole Mae, my trusty steed, and all my material possessions.



I started by camping on Peanut Island, a place I saw every day, but never bothered to visit. I circumnavigated the island the next morning by way of ancient and primitive means: the paved path that goes around the island. I spent a couple nights at Sunsport naturist/nudist resort, a very interesting and unusual experience. I then made the long drive to Key West to stay with a couch surfing host. It's been many years (eight?) since I visited and I came under much different circumstances than the previous visit. I stayed with a guy whose house is literally covered in old pieces of tile and stone, paintings, sculptures and artifacts. He makes his living creating artistic renderings of architecture and his knowledge of these things is boundless. I like being able to get everywhere by bicycle. I did a snorkel around White Pier, recovering treasures such as lost snorkels and lobsters.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 15; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb