To have and have lots in Key West


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Key West
February 10th 2011
Published: April 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

The drive to Key West was bee-u-tee-ful and I didn’t have to worry about getting lost because if a made a wrong turn in any direction I’d end up in the ocean (which, I’ll have you know, I did not). I didn’t really know what to expect from Key West, knowing very little about it before heading there, but dammity if it didn’t turn out to be an absolute pleasure. We were staying in the old town (which is absolutely the place to be). The old part of Key West ain’t huge and everything is flat so it’s easy walking everywhere. We checked off all the usual stuff (Duval Street, southernmost point, Fort Zachary Taylor State Park, Mallory Square, historic waterfront, marina, oldest house), but still there is stuff we didn’t get to…if I ever find myself there again, I’d be all over a snorkelling jaunt to the Dry Tortugas National Park. Next time!

Favourite part: You can walk everywhere and everything is pretty.

Best local fare: Key lime pie (of course). Little secret though: my ma’s is even better.

Most over-rated: Hemingway House. But in fairness, I’m not a huge Hemingway fan. I’m more of a Steinbeck girl. But I liked that there were the descendants of his famous six-toed cat still living on the property. (Yes, I have a gazillion pictures of the cats)

Most under-estimated: the heat. Man, oh, man, the heat. It was hot (the heat was). And you all know how our cool Canadian blood does in the heat. We melt like sno-cones.

Most surprising: the chickens. I kid you not. Chickens everywhere roaming the streets. I bet you they are delicious.

Best souvenir: a purse. A really, really cute purse. That I love. Because it is super cute.

Souvenir least representative of the place you visited: that purse.





Coming up…T’s take on Mee-yam-mee


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Descendant of Hemingway's catDescendant of Hemingway's cat
Descendant of Hemingway's cat

Still living at the house


Tot: 0.402s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb