Kitching Creek


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Jupiter
February 13th 2014
Published: February 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I had great plans for the day. We were going to take a hike then I was going to go to the rv show. Well, all good plans……. I got a late start, the hike was longer than I thought and how could all of this activity be planned for one day.
Our hike was to Kitching Creek and since the temperature was cooler today Oscar told me he was up for it. The land here is all flat so any length hike is not a big deal. The path was great underfoot except for the watery parts. It did rain last night and despite the fact that this is mostly sand it doesn’t drain well at all. Oscar just plowed through it and so did I. My boots were great. There was an overlook when we reached Kitching Creek so we stopped and observed for a while. The return trail was much dryer with pretty much the same scenery. We rounded a corner and Oscar stopped and actually backed up, hair up on his back, on high alert, no growl or bark, he was really scarred. Don’t know what he saw but it sent my adrenaline rushing.
Went home and had lunch and I decided it was too late for the rv show so I would work on my shell project. I collected shells on Marco Island to make a wind chime and now I had all the necessary makings, or so I thought. I bought a new drill to put holes in the shells and I couldn’t get the chuck small enough to accommodate my tiny bit. The sales person at the hardware store assured me the drill and bit would work together but obviously she didn’t know her drills. So I was the one inconvenienced. Oh well, if that’s my only problem I’m pretty lucky. So I went back to the store, exchanged the drill for a more expensive model and came home ready to work. I didn’t have a plan but it just kind of evolved as the project got going.
The drill worked great and before long most of the shells had holes. I got 4 strings done and ran out of shells, so now what. It would be a work in progress. I’ll hang it tomorrow and as more shells are collected they will be added to fill out the ring. I’ll take a picture when it’s ready to hang.
By then it was time to pack up, put away, and make dinner. Then I remembered tomorrow is the full moon so I had to take a picture of the moon tonight. So Oscar and I walked to the dumpster and then I got the tri pod out and snapped away at the moon.
You can almost see LRO circling.
It is going to be really cold tonight, 48 degrees. Everybody is wearing long pants and jackets and it’s 67. Wimps!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

curious bugcurious bug
curious bug

It looks like a praying mantis but it was flat with no color. I found it on the tarp that covered the chairs


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb