Being Alone


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Homestead
February 16th 2011
Published: February 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Traveling alone has forced me to rely on myself. That’s been really good, I have to do things and fix things that normally I rely on Steve to do. Since I basically went from my father’s house to my husband’s (Steve & I got married when I was 20). I’ve never really forged out on my own.

Being alone and being lonely are 2 different things. I haven’t really been lonely. When I’m in a campground I try to strike up conversations. My targets are usually people who drive interesting vehicles, and since I want to upgrade someday, I like to look and talk to people about what they are driving and camping in. Sometimes the people you approach are interesting, and sometimes you stumble on people who really want to talk to you more than you want to listen! But for the most part you learn things from each other, travel tips for example.

Since my last blog, raving about Caloosahatchee Regional Park, I stopped to see some manatees in another Lee County park. The animals had come up the river to get warm in the cooling waters of a power plant. Truly amazing, it looked like a parking lot for manatees.

With a string of wonderful weather, I have stayed at Monument Lake campground in Big Cypress National Preserve and Long Pine Key campground in Everglades National Park.
The Everglades is such a refuge, for me and a whole lot of other cool plants and animals! What a place, an ocean of grass that life-giving water moves through.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1165s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb