Paynes Prairie Preserve


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Gainesville
January 18th 2020
Published: January 20th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


01-18-20 Paynes Prairie Preserve

After spending Friday trying to have my camper repaired I was very ready for a day of fun. I took Watson for a walk by the lake and I was happy to find many subjects just waiting to be captured. Pictures

After lunch I left Watson at home and headed for a wildlife sanctuary at the north end of the preserve. It was difficult to find but sure glad I did because I was able to find the rare snail kite.

I have only seen the bird once before and it was just a fleeting sight. The snail kites love this prairie because it is a feast for them because of the prime environment for the growth of their favorite food, snails. Most of the prairie is flooded most of the year and there is a cover of plants on the water that have an abundance of snails. The shore birds actually walk on the plants and dig the snails out from under with their long bills. The kits hunt from the air and are very efficient finding and eating one after another. I came on a bush that was a favorite dining spot for one kite and it returned time and again to feast. Pictures

There were many Limpkin there too as their primary diet is snails. Pictures

I love the many live oaks that are here dripping with spanish moss. As I drove into the park it was busy and noisy because it is close to the city of Gainesville. Entering the park there was an immediate quiet and sense of peace, just delightful.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0786s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb