Planning Ahead


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Fort Lauderdale
December 22nd 2008
Published: December 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

BerlinBerlinBerlin

Berlin architecture
To all my friends…………….

First, I want to wish all my friends the merriest of Christmases and the happiest of New Years. I really hope that 2009 will bring all of you the best of health, wealth and happiness.

This may seem early for some folks, but in my mind, November 9th of 2009 calls for some early planning. Why? Because that date is the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin wall. How many of us were glued to the television on that eventful day?

I thought I might not be the only one who’d like to be in Berlin to take part in the citywide celebrations that will take place. At the same time, I’d also like to be on the NAVIGATOR OF THE SEAS again to sail back home.

Here’s what I have in mind:
Nov 2, 2009 fly to Berlin
Nov 3 arrive Berlin
Nov 4 City tour of Berlin
Nov 5 Free day in Berlin
Nov 6 Day trip to Potsdam
Nov 7 Hidden underground Berlin tour
Nov 8 Wall celebrations
Nov 9 Wall celebrations
Nov 10 Fly to Funchal, island of Madeira
Nov 11 Board NAVIGATOR OF THE SEAS
Nov 12 day call at Tenerife
Nov 13 day call at Santa Cruz, Tenerife
Nov 14 at sea
Nov 15 at sea
Nov 16 at sea
Nov 17 at sea
Nov 18 at sea
Nov 19 at sea
Nov 20 Nassau, Bahamas
Nov 21 arrive Miami, FL

So….I’m looking at just under 3 weeks. I’m thinking a non-american type hotel or apartments. The tours are small English speaking group walking tours. We’d have a 7 day transport ticket to go all over the city. I’d price out an evening cabaret show (without Liza) in Berlin. Enough free time to do your own thing. Find an affordable hotel in Funchal…..maybe even high tea at famed Reid’s Hotel. As for the ship, we’d get the best rate available for the type of cabin you want……tho I can’t really see paying for a balcony on the mid-Atlantic in November. The cruise ship and date is not cast in stone, either.....and we have to wait until the prices drop !!!!

Again, I'm not looking for a commitment......just a level of interest so I can start putting things together. I know I plan on being in Berlin for the celebrations....whether I'm alone or with 20 other people !!!!!

All the best,
Bob





Advertisement



Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb