Departing Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Flagler Beach
February 21st 2019
Published: February 24th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


blog 02-21-19 Departing Day

The day before departing Flagler Beach I did some wash and enjoyed the beach then set out to put everything away. It was no small task after being here for 2 weeks, I had things all over. The inside was worse than the outside and it took some time to stow all my stuff and find a place for everything.

My next door neighbors invited me to dinner so we had a lovely evening talking and eating and a little wine. After dinner we had dessert in their screen room and watched the moon rise again, spectacular. Picture

The next morning I woke up early and after about 1/2 an hour I was ready to hook up the car and head west. My neighbors came by to say good bye and the next leg of my adventure began.

I headed west on rt 100, a small two lane road through the real Florida. Past farms, ranches, forests, swamps and those beautiful old live oaks that I love. In no time I found myself in Lake City just 6 miles from Interstate 10 and I headed west in a very direct route.

It was going to be a very long drive so I paced myself and stopped at every other rest stop for a walk and a break. We drove past the devastation from last fall's hurricane that caused so much damage in the gulf. It had to have been 100 miles of downed trees all along the road, some having been cleaned up, others still waiting. So sad to see.

I came to the Pensacola exit and headed south for my new home for 3 nights Big Lagoon State Park. After traveling through the city it was refreshing to turn into the park road to see forest and scrub oaks and hear the birds chirping. My site was fine and almost level with lots of room for the camper and car.

After hooking up and taking Watson for a short walk I collapsed and slept 11 hrs. I had driven 433 miles in 7 1/2 hrs.

02-22-19 to 02-23-19

The next 2 days I spent exploring the park and the surrounding area, walking Watson and reading my book. I have included pictures of where I went. My favorite place was Gulf Shores National Seashore, about 10 min from the campground. Saturday I brought my chair, book and camera to just sit and enjoy the surf. I can't get enough of it. The sand is snow white and very fine and the gulf is a blue green when the sun comes out. Maybe I'll have to come back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



24th February 2019

Why am I not with you?
Not so bad going to Puerto Rico either

Tot: 0.309s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 90; dbt: 0.2025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb