Settling In


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Flagler Beach
February 5th 2018
Published: February 6th 2018
Edit Blog Post

blog 02-05-18 Settling In

Watson and I took a long walk yesterday, up the beach campground road, across A1A, through the jungle, along the boat inlet, then checking out the Intercoastal Waterway. Along the way we met 2 women taking a bird censis, part of a state wide effort. They said they have found fewer of some species and more of another attributing it to warmer weather. Not an official conclusion just their opinion.

We walked through the river side section of the park and it's campground, then back through the jungle and home to our campsite. I have not taken a picture of our site yet but will tomorrow so you can picture where I am.

The afternoon was rainy so I spent the time cleaning and reorganizing the camper, which is an ongoing process.

Watson did get his walk on the beach each day but he still tries to go through the gate where we could access the beach last year. He has met several dogs and greets them with his big mouth when they walk by.

I did get to see the fabulous Super Bowl, I ended up streaming it with my wifi access using up all my data. I bought more for just this month so maybe I can see the opening ceremony of the Olimpics. What a time to not be able to get NBC on the antenna. Hooray for the Eagles!!!

Today I got my hair cut and colored and I feel SO much better. I was really looking like a ragamuffin, needed a hat all the time. When I came home, here was a red Fiat parked right next door to me. It did appear naked though, no eye lashes. Nice people, I'll talk more with them tomorrow.

The late afternoon was spent on the beach walking for a while then just sitting and enjoying the birds, waves and the beautiful sun. Today was cool, 60, and along the beach it was much cooler. There was a brisk wind that made it necessary to wear a sweatshirt. Oh, poor me!!!

Watson had a fun time smelling the great beach smells, chased a bird, and digging a hole. He seems to enjoy just sitting next to me and smelling the air after his walk.

I'm including a few pictures of birds on the beach. Hoping for better light in the next couple of days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb