Life in Clermont, Fl and the drive home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Clermont
April 19th 2014
Published: April 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Webster 3-10-14Webster 3-10-14Webster 3-10-14

Jim's 'stuff' - at the flea-market
Hi everyone,

I realize I was supposed to write this weeks ago, but we have been soooo busy. So much to do. March in Clermont was really nice. We did get to visit with our friends, Val & Dwight. They took us on their boat and through the canals - I love it, it is always enjoyable and so pretty! We also got to visit with our friends Cory and Sandy - we met them at Brimfield and used to enjoy seeing them there - but they are no longer setting up there. They are 'snowbirds' also and luckily, they are not too far from us when we stay in Clermont. The weather in Clermont, in March, was mostly around 70 degrees. We were able to 'set up' at a flea-market, in Webster Fl, not too far from us. We paid, in advance, for 3 weekends. The first weekend, we sold some stuff and made some money, the 2nd weekend - we were 'rained out' - it was so rainy and windy, we didn't even try to go - the 3rd weekend, we got there and the office had re-sold our space to someone else! We couldn't believe it - Jim demanded our money back for that day and got it (she didn't want to give it to him 'we don't usually do this' she said).

We left Florida on March 31. We didn't need to leave until April 2, but we needed to make sure the weather would be clear on our route home and it looked like it would be best if we left a few days early. Our first night was at a Wal-Mart in South Carolina - good thing we got there early in the evening, because the parking lot sure got crowded with RV's pretty quickly. It's quite a sight, the annual 'return of the snowbirds from winter migration'!

Our ride home was pretty uneventful (thankfully). The weather was good, a little rain for a short while in PA, but that was it. Clear the rest of the way. It's kind of amazing (& depressing) to watch spring go in reverse. It's like mid-spring when we leave Florida (which is in full bloom) and along the highway we see the green grass and the flowering trees, becoming less and less as we go along. We saw clear signs of spring (tulips, daffodils &
Webster2   3-10-14Webster2   3-10-14Webster2 3-10-14

my 'stuff' - at the flea-market
flowering spring trees) as far as northern VA. West VA & PA not so much. We really start to feel the cold in northern PA and then the rest of the way home.

Once home, we are busy cleaning the RV, getting all our boxes packed for the Brimfield show in May and catching up on all of our M.D. appts. I will be flying to Savannah, GA with my mom and sisters and will meet with my aunt and cousin there, the 1st weekend in May. We will be there for 3 nights and I am really looking forward to it. I enjoy, so much, being just 'with the girls' (with the exception of 1 night, when my brother will drive in to join us). We have reservations at Paula Deens restaurant and I am looking forward to all the places we will see when we get there. Just after we get home, Jim and I will be setting up at Brimfield for the May show and then life in CT will return to normal - until next November, when we take off for the winter again.

Hope you all have a wonderful Easter (I am so psyched! I get to see my grandsons) and enjoy a wonderful dinner, masterfully prepared by my son. It will be a wonderful Easter for me, indeed, visiting with my family whom I haven't seen in months! (The only drawback to going away).

Love,

Linda


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

home away from home   3-27-14home away from home   3-27-14
home away from home 3-27-14

Our 'spot' in Clermont, Fl.
pic of 6 of uspic of 6 of us
pic of 6 of us

We invited our friends, Val, Dwight, Sandy & Cory over for a get-together before we left. This was supposed to be a picture of all 6 of us!! I was enjoying myself so much, I left my camera inside and forgot to take the picture!
P1090365P1090365
P1090365

Our 1st night's stop. Wal-Mart in S.C. Just look at all the R.V.'s that overnight here!
P1090367P1090367
P1090367

The sun setting behind the RV's in the Wal-Mart parking lot in S.C.


Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb