Exploring


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Cape Canaveral
November 1st 2008
Published: November 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tired of sitting around waiting to be shuttled to the ship we decided to venture out and see a little bit of Cocoa Beach and area. Humming the theme to “I dream of Jennie” we jumped in the Audi and off we went.
First on the agenda was food. After driving down the main strip for 3-4 miles we found a nice steak house called Durango’s Steakhouse. I ordered a 12oz rib eye steak and my bride ordered chipotle shrimp. We split an appetizer of queso w/ homemade chips. All was awesome! The steaks and other fare were cooked over a huge open flame over oak coals. I wondered if the cook had eyebrows or nose hair for that matter. The place was decorated in dark wood like the old time steakhouses and smelled of charred oak and spices. Our booth was large enough to seat eight. I kinda took it personal. I know I have gained a few pounds…BUT. $43 latter we were off to continue our adventure.

Who could come this close to the famous Kenndy Space Center and not at least try to get a quick look. ( Kinda like being a beer delivery guy to a topless bar) The signs were easy to follow and the closer we got the more the businesses had names like “The Shuttle Lounge” and the “Space Coast Auto Sales”. Soon we were seeing thing connected to the space center. One was the recycling area. I’m sure this would be tree hugger heaven. Not so much for us. We passed it by with only a curious glance. The second looked like the official cell phone tower. I tried to use my phone just to be able to say that I used the space tower. However, when I hit send all I could hear was “ET phone home”. Wrong number guy. Then finally we reach the end of the road....literally. With lots of guards and lots gates we did not feel the love so we turned around and headed back to the hotel. I was hoping to see a shuttle..and I did…several…all painted on the outside bars and car dealerships.

On the way back to the hotel we passed the port and WOW our ship was pulling into port. Now keep in mind it takes a few hours to pass customs and off load 2500 people. So here were are 5;10pm WITH NOWHERE TO GO..lol.

Until later 


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb