Merritt Island NWR


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Cape Canaveral
January 13th 2008
Published: January 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Titusville, FL. Where has the month of January gone? My goodness what a whirlwind trip this has been. I’ve packed a lot into the first days of 2008.

The campground here is great. It is County run, has lots of shade, and if the shuttle was going to launch while I was here, I would have a great view of it (of course I’d need that 500 mm lens that I don’t have to get anything remotely close up).

The photo workshop was good, in spite of less than spectacular weather. When I joined up with them Saturday afternoon, I discovered 2 people from my workshop in Bosque were also here. It was fun shooting with them again.

This morning, while we were in Merritt Island NWR, I saw another familiar face. One of my fellow CNPA members from the RTP area is down here and was out shooting. It was nice chatting with him as well.

I’m very tired and have been going since 4:30 this morning with only 5 hours of sleep after cramming too much into yesterday, too.

I did manage to edit a couple of images from today to share with you.

Monday I’m going to play tourist at the Kennedy Space Center and see if I can get a shot of the shuttle on the launch pad. I plan on a low key day and will map out my route and stops on the way home as well.

Thanks for checking in. More when time permits.

Bruce

PS I still am a very beginner at this flight photography and even more so with bird identification. My apologies for not being more descriptive with these captions. It's "on my list" to work on this year!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb