I can fly...I did fly...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Cape Canaveral
November 24th 2007
Published: November 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post


We all have dreams, dreams that sometimes come from our early childhood. And man has always had a dream
...to fly...today, I may be one of the very few thousands on earth that have realized his dream. I can
say too...I can fly...so today was one of the most incredible day of my life.

So for this, fly first...on a traditional way to Orlando. And really happy to see again my great friend
Tim...thanks for your welcome Tim!

So on this 24th...wake up very early to drive to Cape Canaveral! Yes, our plane did take off and land on
the runway used by the space shuttle...walking on the same ground as the astronauts are using for their
first steps back to earth!

We started with a light breakfast, and a full presentation on what was going to happen to us that morning.
All this took place at the Space Center...in full gear for our zero gravity, full weightless fly experience.

After this, ready for the action on our way by bus to the runway, and on our way, a view at the shuttle
hangars and the launching pads.

We board the modified 727 cargo flight. The all cabin is divided in 2 sections. Back are 35 seats to welcome
crazy guys like me...and most of the cabin, is simply empty...with padded floor...ready to welcome the
children that we are.

So the flight take between 30 to 35 guest. And we had the pleasure to fly today with the youngest ever
human to fly zero gravity...he is just 8 years old...children can dream...or be simply very lucky to have
wealthy parents! Today we were 32 guests, we speak about 5 kids, at least 5 grand-parents. A lady who
found out 30 minutes before what was going to happen to her, few father-son pairs, a family celebrating
the graduation of their son, 95% were americans, and not that young...you can guess why.

So all in our seats, no champagne...and hoping we wouldn't end-up too sick...even with the motion sickness
medications that most of us took.

You start by a conventional take-off...with seatbelts for 30 minutes. The parabolic flight is actually
between 24,000 feet and 32,000 feet. For your info, a conventional plane normally fly at 33,000 feet.
So all this flight is done in NASA airspace, 100 miles wide by 10 miles wide.

The all process is due to parabols providing 30 seconds gravity. We did 15 parabols. The fist one is the
marsian gravity, were you weight half of your weight...the next two ones are the lunar gravity at 1/3 of
you weight...you already get crazy feeling at that level...imagine Lens Amstrong on 21st July...well same
thing for us. And than it's 12 full zero gravity, weightless flight.

Experience shows that most of us will be very uncomfortable after 15 to 20 parabols...my 15th was an
intersting one!

So what to say...enjoy the pictures...I will remember this for years...it was simply amazing. Sky-diving
was fun, but this, this is way more amazing!

What's next you are going to ask me...well for me there is 2008...and a lot alreay booked...but for
this you will have to wait! You can trust me, it will be amazing!

20 millions USD will put you on the space shuttle...I'll sure be retired before...Richard Branson is lining
Galactica Virgin for 2009...and 200,000usd for a 2 hours experience...actually going to space, but only
3 to 5 minutes full weightless...we did 12 times 30 seconds...you do the math...but for Galactica...never
say never...I'm 33 and know where I come from...on my own.

So for the zero gravity...when next...well, if you ask me, in a few years once Leslie and Tiffany are
ready...because kids can dream...and we can make a difference with a little work!

If you do ready this entry, send me a small message, I would like to know which one of my friends have read
this. A dvd is coming in a few weeks and for sure more nice pictures.

For the next entry....you'll have to wait...few days...

You can dream or find the prince charming who realized your dreams...I just want to enjoy life!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



15th February 2011

W.O.W!!!!! Great pictures and such an amazing experience. May I ask how on earth people get on this? Do you need some kind of license or qualification to fly like this? Or is it just a tourist thing? Do I dare ask how much this costs? Great blog anyway - I enjoyed it. :D
10th August 2011

Amazing!
Just found your blog and I'm enjoying reading it.... I do everything IN ORDER, so here I am... reading along... I'll try to read as fast as you travel! Your Zero G sounds like a fantastic time!
8th April 2012

Phenomenal!
I remember seeing the certificate about this proudly displayed at your apartment, and after reading this, it is something that I absolutely must do in my lifetime (not that I needed much more motivation after hearing your stories in person)!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb