Week Seven


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Bradenton
July 27th 2012
Published: July 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Monday , July 16, 2012 : Today was productive and easy going at the same time. We’ve got a pretty nice set up. I’m sure it’s not the same way for everyone here since Snooty’s birthday is fast approaching. We decided to make the 8 words of the museum (life adapts, everything changes, interactions happen, and place matters) the centerpiece of the signs. After work, three people offered to give us a ride home! It was funny – but a bit of a dilemma for a while. We couldn’t find Sam who offered us a ride first. Fortunately, she showed up, and we got to see her new apartment – She signed the lease and everything! When we got back, Shannon shared her yoga sequence she made with me, then we ate.

Tuesday , July 17, 2012 : I was running late today because I decided to try another route out last minute. I realized when I came into work why I had chosen my original shorter route. I was planning to go to the Bradenton Runner’s Club tonight with Lindsay, but I was in such a hurry and changed my mind so last minute that I didn’t bring anything just in case I did go running. When I saw her, I told her, and she asked her coach if she had extra shoes – I’ll be running in size 8s and my hiking stuff I have at the office! I’ll be much more prepared next time. Today was easy going as well. We did some programming things and looked at plans for Snooty’s birthday. We got a visit today from Scott showing us his trick with his needle and fake blood! EW. It was convincing to us, but the kids weren’t impressed. The next part of grossology is gross; the theme of this week for Sarah’s camp was eating the gross parts of a cow. She fried up some tongue, liver, kidneys, stomach, and brains. Yum. What a convenient time to be a vegetarian. While we were on our way back in, we talked to Matt- He’s quite the encyclopedia – we talked about making hides flexible again with brains and the Pyrenees in Spain having a whole genre of cuisine based on the gross parts of meat. Off to run again!

Wednesday , July 18, 2012: Pro tip: Never run barefoot. Her coach forgot the shoes, and I ran 5ish miles barefoot. My foot is so messed up.Today was simple: we discussed how to incorporate more programming, and how to sell our ideas to Jeff, Matt and Sam when the time comes. I think that Snooty’s birthday has taken up quite a bit of time and resources – I think we should probably sit back and simmer until it has passed. We only saw Sara today! She invited us about 4 times for some dookie cookies! I got the recipe – they really do look like poop. She didn’t serve them to anyone until we came – and we didn’t even finish doing all of our work until 2ish in the afternoon. It was very sweet of her. And good thing -it was delish. I hope tomorrow is full of excitement!

Thursday , July 19, 2012: Today was simple as well. People are going crazy for Snooty’s birthday! To begin, we hung out in the grossology camp to see Jeff dissect a cow eye ball. I remember when I thought that was hideously gross. It's fascinating and a really good representation of our eyes even though we don't have a tapetum. After that was done, Jeff helped us sort out our information and give us new direction since we hit a wall, so to speak. We started again with calling the county extension which is actually a really cool resource here- I hope to find something like it in Indiana. Some Feelings: Sarah told me about the time that her high school had her go see a dead person because she wanted to be a pathologist. The person had drowned and had been floating in water. They lifted the cover on him and cut him open – just like that. I tried to hide my furry, but that’s not how to educate young minds. Who in their right mind thinks that something so fragile as a youth’s perspective on the lines of life and death is something worth ruining to show the dirty parts of the job. It’s not human to believe that someone is just capable of tearing into a dead person. It reminds me of a time that I am incredibly thankful for- my experience with a cadaver. My anatomy professor, Dr. Worrel, eased us into dissection and even had us write a reflection; he was so passionately delicate with our understanding of life. Anyhow, I write all this not only to reminisce, but also to question if the purpose of showing Sarah the dead man was to keep the woman out of the doctor’s office because a women’s heart just can’t handle it. It’s a sad thought, but I wouldn’t put it past Florida – I don’t go a day without witnessing or hearing some segregation of race, gender, and socioeconomic status.

Friday , July 20, 2012: Today was used for helping everyone get ready for Snooty’s birthday. We packed volunteer goody bags and helped search for random odds and ends – Snooty’s birthday is going to be huge, and I am getting pretty intimidated. I’m glad I ran this morning because I can’t tomorrow – we need all hands on deck at 7 am tomorrow – jeewhiz. We had Shannon’s grandma’s birthday dinner tonight, so I hope her grandma had a good time.

Sat/Sun July 21 & 22, 2012

Saturday Snooty’s birthday – it was awesome, and it reminded me of the times of directing a bunch of volunteers around. I remember when I wanted to do it. I don’t know whatever happened to that dream. Maybe public health is the balance of science and helping that I want. Jeff’s party afterward was awesome – He had tons of food options for me being a vegetable and all. It was rather thoughtful.

Sunday Disc golf in the morning, sleeping in the afternoon and making food for the next three days while the stove is out after that – sounds good to me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb