Week 6


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Bradenton
July 16th 2012
Published: July 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Monday, July 9, 2012

Dolphin survey today! It was awesome! We got to do salinity testing, red tide sampling, and descriptions for each dolphin find. I’m not going to lie… I had a lot of practice looking for bugs with Nick, so I’ve got to say I was doing alright at spotting them.

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

We went to the library today to look up more Bradenton specific information. Unfortunately, they didn’t have much, but they did have really great children’s books that helped a ton. I think we’ll go back again soon. The library also had a book store. I’d like to volunteer there, but I’m pretty busy as is. The bookstore had paperbacks for 50 cents and hard covers for one dollar. It was awesome. I wanted to stay longer, but we were running late, so I just grabbed some cookbooks. When we got back, we had some cake for the monthly birthday cake celebration, and then we went back to start brainstorming and putting stuff together.

Wednesday , July 11, 2012

Today was lovely again. We started with throwing all of our stuff together and generating ideas. At lunch I talked to Nick and got a twitter so that I could follow Neil deGrasse Tyson, WHO, popsci and such. After lunch, we decided to make a plan with deadlines, so we will be mostly done before Snooty’s birthday. Then we started with the first task which included finding information out about the bioswale. We decided at the last minute to stay for the think and drink – it was about Snooty this time, which makes sense because of the fundraising campaign and his birthday next week. We had a good time. Martha bought us pizza when I offered to get her some. It was awfully nice of her. So… we walked to get dinner, ate, and had a great time at the think and drink. There, we met a teacher that invited us to go look for turtle nests in the early, early morning on Saturday! We networked like crazy for almost 40 minutes. We, then, got to meet Lindsay’s dad. He seems like a really cool cat!

Thursday , July 12, 2012

Jeff was the first to greet us today. He apparently peeked in the office to see our progress. It seems that he was happy with us. I certainly got nervous when he said that he saw it. We waited for Lindsay to get there before we started talking about everything and gave our progress report spiel. After that, we continued with bioswale research and looked up some graphics. We put together Jeff’s idea that he sent us quickly and showed it to him. We found out that a lot of apple phones won’t be able to see any flash based animations. That’s awful since that’s a ton of animations that I can see being useful that are no longer when it comes to QR tagging. After lunch and some networking with another vet, I discussed some technical things with Lindsay, and she left to give a tour and I met with Shannon to go to the staff meeting. I love being a part of the organizational side of things. The organizations at school are what I love. Before finding the major that I really felt passionate about, I would commit myself completely to clubs and volunteering. It’s truly amazing what a group of dedicated people all working their special and specific talents to make something this - a museum or whatever organization work.

Friday , July 13, 2012

We didn’t do a whole lot other than finish up a couple versions of the important things we want to express about bio swales. We talked with a lot of the coworkers today there was definitely a TGIF feeling today. I met some friends of Lindsay. They were interesting and very nice. Shannon and I couldn’t decide what to do this Friday night, but eventually we decided a night in was just fine. We did hear that the film Friday film was good. When we were walking in the rain to the bus stop, one of the ladies from the front desk offered a ride home. We accepted- she was wonderfully nice and we learned so much about her. She also had a very refreshing happiness to her.

Saturday, July 14 I made my goal of 5 miles today- I’ve been working up slowly since I hurt my leg before we came. We went to the movies today! Brave is a great movie. When the movie got out, we decided to do a little shopping for food. I never thought to go to Aldis for food because in Indiana it’s kind of lame. In Florida it is AWESOME. After the shopping, we watched an NCIS marathon.

Sunday, July 15 Today was a nice day too. We went to the pool for a little bit. After that, we decided to go to Richard’s Foodporium. I really hope I can find something like it in Indiana. I got some millet and barley foods to help with cholesterol and some ginger kombucha for Sam (and me too) I’ll leave it as a surprise for her tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb