Third Week


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Bradenton
June 24th 2012
Published: June 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Monday: We came in a little late today, as Shannon felt a little sick after eating take-out. We got in around 12 30 and began working on ideas. It was tough to agree on what sorts of information we should start putting into writing. After talking to Matt, we both realized that we didn’t have a set or exact goal with the facts. Once we have them all down and figured out, then we organize and make them more readable.

Tuesday: Today was a little slow, as Shannon wasn’t feeling well again. I didn’t want to say much to her, but I think she’s actually sick. I hope she starts feeling better soon. Our task was to continue with putting the facts into words that we will cut out into slips of paper. In my head, this is very scattered. Matt thinks very clearly I’m positive, but in a different way than I do. I am training myself to automatically see patterns in a series of items, but currently I habitually make the pattern. That is, I categorize and fit what I find in the category. This method is flawed, as I take a long time to make a connect with the bigger picture. This summer, I hope that I will overcome that struggle. We had some chats with everyone per usual and had a great time chatting with each other in our office.

Wednesday: We missed the bus today! The bus is consistently at least 15 minutes late. Since catching the bus, we’ve gotten closer and closer to arriving at 9:05, but the bus always arrives around 9 10. Today, however, the bus didn’t show up… The shenanigans! I felt the sour pang of defeat. We came back to watch some X-men before trying again. Shannon was sick again. Again- I hope she feels better soon. We went over all of our ideas with Matt, made a plan and some goals, and we were set free to accomplish them. Other than that, today was quiet. Scott is now critiquing our food on a daily basis – I’m okay with that – he’s quite the chef, I hear.

Thursday: We arrived and ran into Scott- he’s good at joking around with us. We were given the task to put everything into a paragraph – I went over all of the tasks we have. I feel that we’ve got a lot more than I thought, and we were taking our time because we thought we had all summer. We went back to the shelter today in the hopes that we could get a call back for volunteering – our hopes were squashed. We didn’t see much of Matt, as he had lots of meetings. Today went along swimmingly.

Friday: Today was pretty simple. We didn’t see that many people; we got right to work on listing out what was going to be on the actual interpretive panel for the butterfly garden. After we finished that we got pictures that wouldn’t become pixilated upon enlargement and started condensing our fast facts about butterflies. After lunch we gave Matt our progress and continued looking up things about bio swales and tidal areas. Then we got to visit the summer camp. There's kids from 2nd grade to 6th grade there. They're all learning things in depth and they're all very excited. We got to go around and have them tell us all about their palentological digs and such. When we left they were making posters for a picture.

Saturday and Sunday: Not too much happend, as Debby decided to give Florida a visit. We ordered in, since we were running low on some food stuffs and couldn't go out and get it. I'm almost finished with my book, though, since we had so much indoor time this weekend!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb