Ask me about Dulles


Advertisement
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 38.8921, -77.0241

Washinton, D.C.

Dulles International Airport

7:25 a.m.

Hot and steamy! Was planning on taking a quick tour of the Lincoln Memorial in DC, but it was already to hot this early in the morning. So I spoke to the United Information booth and found out that I could have access to the Red Carpet Lounge and to the First Class International Flight Lounge. These are super nice waiting areas that have special amenities. I grabbed a nice breakfast of French toast and bacon and then will head off and explore the airport for the next 8 hours. I will have to post pictures after I get into the hotel in London tomorrow night. I thought I packed my photo sim card reader in my carry on, but left it in my luggage. So no pictures until tomorrow night.

2:34 P.M.

Well I'm back in the First Class lounge enjoying small quiche appetizers, a chocolate chip cookie, and some water. It's a shame I don't drink; they have lots of free alcohol including champaign and wines. There is sushi, soup, and sandwiches available, but I ate earlier in the B Concourse. I spent my timeexploring Concourse A and B, eating, and then getting a massage. I also spent $500 to get £300 so I could have some English pounds on hand when I arrive. Now, I will spend my time playing games online and enjoying first class service. I got text messages from my brother and middle niece, who both wished me well on the trip. I discovered too late that Stephanie Killion, former classmate of PHS83, lives in DC. Would have loved to meet up with her. Looking forward to the flight and then a nice long sleep on the plane.

June 24-25, 2010

Flight to London

OH MY GOD!!! I could not believe my luck when I saw where I would be sitting for my flight to Heathrow! I was worried about not having enough room to stow my travel bag and low and behold I had a whole area set aside just for me! My seat was one that fully reclined flat for sleeping, had its own movie screen (which I got to select my own movies to view) a side storage compartment, a lumbar support (which I thought was for massages), and best of all the most excellent service from an outstanding crew. Natalie Coombs was my stewardess. She saw how excited I was and made sure my experience was everything I could hope for and more! I was offered champaign, which although I dislike, I thought the occasion called for it. She even took pictures for me! The captain, hearing about my excitement, came out and gave me an info card about the plane. Natalie was able to take pictures of the cockpit which I could see from my seat. Due to fueling problems and then severe weather east of us, the flight was delayed on the ground for about an hour and a half, but I barely noticed it! I got to choose my meal from appetizers to desert! I choose a salad and braised short rib of beef with red wine demi-glace. It was very tasty! Then I chose a grape and cheese selection for desert. The cheese were BelGioioso Creamy Gorgonzola (ick!), Sartori Bellavitano (nice), and Montchevre Sun-dried Tomato and Basil Chevre (alright). Along with desert I was offered Graham's Late Bottled Vintatge Port 2003 to drink. I have always wanted to try port ever since reading about it in my Barbara Cartland Regency romance books when I was a teen. However, after two sips and it was enough for me. It was worse than the champaign. How do people drink this stuff! It was very strong and tart! I'll stick to water for the most part on my trip, but I will try the local beverages when the time comes. One should always try everything once! The plane ride had a bit of turbulence so I had to be careful eating. My water sloshed a bit in its glass, but I managed not to spill anything on me. After eating, I was able to watch the movie "Young Queen Victoria" which I thought was appropriate. I loved the movie and learned that Buckingham palace was finished during the early part of her reign. I had thought it had been around much longer than that! After the movie I reclined my seat into its bed formation and settled down to sleep. A toiletry kit was provided which included an eye mask. So with that and being able to sleep even on my side, I fell asleep only after making myself not become so excited about the next day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb