Posh posh traveling life


Advertisement
Published: June 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

SnackSnackSnack

Mary and I traveling in luxury...
Geo: 38.8921, -77.0241

"This is livin', this is style, this is elegance by the mile
Oh the posh posh traveling life, the traveling life for me
Whenever I'm bored I travel abroad but ever so properly...."

Yes, indeed, we are traveling the posh life. Eve and Leroy Measner were very generous with their frequent flier miles and Mary and I are traveling first class from Denver to Istanbul (and back). Here's a photo of us in our roomy spots on United Airlines.
Now, for a short hop to Washington DC (Dulles) and onward for a nice 10 hour nap...

During our short (3+ hour) flight to Dulles, Mary napped. She missed the hot towels and complimentary toasted almonds and cashews...oh, and she missed our "snack" but I ordered for her and when she awoke they delivered hers. Here's a photo of our snack...a very tasty chicken/cheese soup; a shrimp salad; dinner roll and wine. It was more that I usually eat at a meal!
Later in the flight, hot chocolate chip cookies were delivered to our seats. Oh, we're going to be spoiled...

CONTEST! If you can tell me where the lyrics of the song quoted in this post are from, I'll bring you a
SnackSnackSnack

Our shrimp salad snack, with soup and dinner roll. Later, we had hot chocolate chip cookies
little gift from Turkey. Winner is whoever posts first to my Facebook account with the correct answer.

"I'm on my way to far away tah tah and toodle-oo
And fare thee well, and Bon Voyage, Arrivederci too.
Oh the posh posh traveling life, the traveling life for me!"

Advertisement



6th September 2013

I can't tell you the source of the poem, but I can relate what I heard was the original meaning of "POSH." When wealthy Brits vacation cruised the Nile before back in the days before air conditioning, they wanted the best staterooms - thos
e that were the coolest because they were on the east side of the ship and shaded from the afternoon sun as they sailed south then north back to Cairo. Hence, they requested the POSH rooms: Port Out, Starboard Home. Somehow this doesn't quite fit air trade west to east. :)

Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb