As the World Turns/How the World Changes


Advertisement
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Since I last wrote many things have changed

1) The House of Representatives has a new majority with the GOP. Whether this will bring increased cooperation between the two parties as historically shown or become a self-fulfilling prophecy of stagnated decisions, only time will tell. Being in the nation’s capital where all these changes will take place is such a strange feeling as I know so many things will change in DC.

2) My halloween costume from two years ago became an embodiment of a little less known Christine O'Donnell event. I wore the costume proudly.
http://gawker.com/5674353/i-had-a-one+night-stand-with-christine-odonnell

2) I have a new place to live. I am still in Chinatown but about four blocks close to the heart of the action. I have two great roommates, Jeff and Lynne, and I occupy the sunroom. The room is about 80% windows which brings in glorious sunlight, yet is pretty chilly and conducts noise through the windows as well as light. It will take some getting used to but I am really excited to have a room to myself and a place to call home. I will also miss meeting a lot of new people but at the same time, I love being able to come home and be completely disentangled from work. At the hostel, I’d have to tack on ten extra minutes at least because everyone would ask me questions as they saw me being an RA all the time. You may be able to see pictures at the following link:
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2269939&id=25915056&l=1372bf85b3

3) As my position at the hostel has ended, I have 40 extra hours in my week to find a full time position. I just completed some data entry work for pay. It seemed like this position would be more long term but their needs were less extensive than originally thought. Good motivation to keep looking for a job I really enjoy and will hire me long-term.

A little less different but comments about recent events:
• I have been very sick over the past five days. I don’t know what happened but I will never discredit flu shots again. I truly was down for the count for five days and it was horrible. Because this is my blog, I am sharing my plight and asking for a little pity even though it’s mostly over. As my facebook status says right now, my heartbeat sounds like a baby's ultrasound, muffled and watery, because my head is so congested. Creepy.
• Please stay in contact. Although I’m far away I’m still in the same country and love staying in touch with people who I care about and care about me. You can see that from my postcard wall I've started. Many are from my mother which I appreciate so much! (Thanks mom!)
• Anyone else watching Boardwalk Empire? We have too many channels here and HBO is one of them. I am obsessed with this show about prohibition in Atlantic City. Directed by Martin Scorsese with impeccable actors and an interesting yet not totally outlandish plot, I’m hooked. (Warning: Like with any HBO show, nudity and sex are common themes)
• Ever since I first started doing my blog I’ve wanted to be a travel writer. What a tough life right? Being paid to travel the world and write about it. So in my new place, the shower curtain seems to be inside out or at least the lining could be a shower curtain. This conclusion is from the fact that there is a map of the world on the inside lining of the shower curtain. I shower and brush up on my geography and since I’m in water, I start looking at the diverse bodies of water in the world. From this, I decided I want to write a travel/tourism book based on traveling to different large bodies of water. From my travels, I’d write a guidebook comparing the different vantage points/benefits of the country I’m experiencing the water from. I’m thinking of calling it “A Mind’s Eye: The Different Outlooks of Water” or some such thing. Really weird idea but as I’ve mentioned I’ve been sick. And really. Who’s created this yet? Definitely needed in society.


That is all for now. Hopefully more to update you on soon! Feel free to converse in the meantime.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb