Washington D.C.


Advertisement
Published: May 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On to Washington - four days of perfect weather when it was meant to be covered in snow!

I had no idea what to expect from the city - my only preparation being an addiction to the West Wing. Turns out we arrived for a hot spell - middle of winter and we were in t-shirts. Despite the obvious gap between the well off and the poor there, it turned out to be a beautiful and intersting place. You could spend weeks exploring the capitol buildings, smithsonian museums, holocust centre and the world´s larget law library (I restrained myself from an urge to read a few cases). The only down side was a dodgy swipe card system at the hostel that meant you would eventually be locked out of your room, which for me was at 3am after ducking out to the bathroom. Let´s just say I wore more to bed the next few nights, just in case I had to make another trip down six flights of stairs to the slightly dodgy over night receptionist in my PJs again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb