Stephen Colbert and the National Portrait Gallery


Advertisement
Published: March 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

After my meetings were finished for the afternoon, I had a little over an hour before a dinner meeting that evening. Headed to the National Portrait Gallery which was only a couple blocks from my hotel.

Stephen Colbert of the Colbert Report on Comedy Central has had a hilarious skit running about his portrait. In the "living room" where he does his interviews, he has his portrait up. The skit was him taking the portrait to DC to get put on display since he feels he's a great American. I think he went first to the Smithsonian Museum of American History (not sure) who turned down the displaying of his portrait. So, he put it on his back and headed out to find it a new home. He went to the National Portrait Gallery. They also refused to allow his portrait but after some bartering, begging and a bet, he managed to get it displayed in an area not usually home to art in the Gallery...in between the men's and women's bathrooms on the 2nd floor. So funny. I was visiting with the security guard and he said that on some days the line is down the hall to see it. Guess it's done a great job bringing people into the Gallery. It's on display until April 1, 2008.

While at the Portrait Gallery, I was so lucky to see a National Parks and Yosemite special exhibit on display. Yosemite is one of my all-time favorite places to tour. They had several gorgeous art pieces including one of my Albert Bierstadt favorites "Among the Sierra Nevada". I have a fake in my home. The original is very large and so beautiful. Amazing. I also really liked Thomas Moran's "Ranbow over the Grand Canyon". Great colors. The Presidential Portrait Wing is also very nice. Most are the classical portrait except Kennedy's whose is not the classical design.

Afterwards, the sky was the perfect blue with white fluffy clouds so I snapped some photos of the Capitol. Unfortunately, I had forgotten to charge my battery so the site seeing ended when the battery died. It was time for my dinner meeting anyway. Perfect sky, however. My favorite for photos.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Washington PortraitWashington Portrait
Washington Portrait

Portrait the the dollar bill was based on. Not in good shape and under glass.
Hallway ViewHallway View
Hallway View

Yosemite Exhibit


3rd March 2008

Great art
cool photos..stephen colbert in bathroom..very funny :) by the way like the little amy pic in the corner...cute :)
4th March 2008

Great Use of One Hour
It is amazing how much you can see and enjoy in between business commitments, isn't it? Most people would lack the motivation to do what you did so well. I enjoyed your narrative and photos... Specially the Capitol framed by the hooves.
4th March 2008

Camera
I carry my camera with me. When I'm walking between buildings and there's a great shot I can do it quick then. Over lunches, I try to go eat at a Museum. Everything is so close and accessible on the Capitol and Mall area. So much to see! Am not always so lucky...sometimes all I do is sit indoors all day at meetings!
7th March 2008

Nice sky ;)
I just have to say I loved your photo with the statue and the Capitol in the background. So original! Also glad to see the government has some kind of sense of humor with the Stephen Colbert portrait. I had no idea. :) PS thanks for the kind words before. The trip overall was amazing and hope you get back to Italy soon!

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 107; dbt: 0.1018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb