Being a tourist in DC


Advertisement
Published: September 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

LincolnLincolnLincoln

The man himself.
I ended up sleeping lots at Lauren's. I barely left before she got back from work. I walked around Arlington for a bit and then tried my hand at DC highways, where it's always 5 PM. I was headed to Julie K.'s in Shepherd Park, in the North of the NW quadrant. So of course I took the most convoluted route there. I ended up taking the Outer Loop, which was significantly out of my way, but I got to see more of the area so it all worked out.

Julie's spending the next year working at a Latino public health clinic through the Avodah program. I got to crash at her place which is a 6 bedroom house with 8 Jewish girls in it. Basically a social justice, Jewish sorority house. It's also within 500 feet of not one, but two synagogues. Ridiculously wonderful 😊

Bright and early the next day, I headed downtown and did the tourist thing. All my other visits to DC have been spent in museums so I decided to screw that, and walk around the Mall on the hottest day of summer. I'm a smart one. One cool thing I saw on the Mall
MLKMLKMLK

MLK finally getting recognition in Washington.
was a new engraving being put on the steps of the Lincoln memorial. They're marking where MLK stood when he gave his "I have a Dream" speech. Nice, huh? About time 😊

I had found a bitingly honest guide book in Julie's house so it helped me learn alot about DC (even the not-so-happy stuff), such as 50%!o(MISSING)f the black male population in DC has a criminal record of some sort (written in the being of 2001). How screwed up is that?

Anyway, after walking around in 95+ degree heat for a couple hours, I found a cafe with AC to sit in for the afternoon. I finally finished Cradle to Cradle, which I highly recommend. I went to Potbelly's to try "DC's best sandwich" and it was pretty damn good. Also something I recommend.

I met up with Josh L. at the BBYO, Inc. office which was a tourist stop all in itself. It was like a time warp back to high school. Josh and I went back to his place in Van Ness for awhile and talked about life in general. It was good to see Joshie after so long, but I had to
white housewhite housewhite house

You're not allowed to even step foot on Penn. Ave. The closest you can get is the sidewalk. Bush was in Iraq when I took this.
leave soon to get my car and move it over to Mas's place. Mas and Weldon live in this sweet house near downtown. Before I even walked in, Mas was already busy drawing me a bath in his whirlpool. We hung out all night and made some amazing grilled cheese sandwiches.

Life is beautiful 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb