The nation's capital


Advertisement
Published: December 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

the White Housethe White Housethe White House

Does my head look big in this picture?
What's up all, this time I am tagging along with Halef to Washington, D.C. He's doing his Marine Corps Marathon while I am mousing around the nation's capital. The National Mall is, of course, the highlight of Washington, D.C., starting from the world's famous White House, Washington Monument, U.S. Capitol, Smithsonian Castle, Lincoln Memorial, yadda yadda. I also have an opportunity to check out some museums, including the Arlington National Cemetery in Virginia side.

Unfortunately I wasn't training properly for the Marathon, so flying a non-stop 26.2 miles is not an option for me. Well at least not for this time around. So instead, I am supporting all runners with Jason, Correnn and Sandy, of all whom are Iowa State graduates live in Washington, D.C. It is nice to know that Iowa Staters are everywhere to give supports and hosting me around.

Well celebration is over, and heading home now. Till later.

-Cy


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

WWII MemorialWWII Memorial
WWII Memorial

I never feel so happy to find home state in the nation's capital. Iowa representation at the WWII Memorial, the National Mall.
Washington MonumentWashington Monument
Washington Monument

This is an obligatory picture with the National obelisk. I even went to the top with my buddies!
Phillips CollectionPhillips Collection
Phillips Collection

Hey, I'm an art lover too. I am enjoying Renoir's 'Luncheon of a Boating Party'.
Vietnam War Veteran MemorialVietnam War Veteran Memorial
Vietnam War Veteran Memorial

I am sitting by the controversial Vietnam War Veteran Memorial. Wait a second, do I look like a token at this memorial?!
Lincoln MemorialLincoln Memorial
Lincoln Memorial

I am posing with the big guy himself at his throne facing the National Mall. He is my favorite president all time.
National Museum of Natural HistoryNational Museum of Natural History
National Museum of Natural History

I am sitting on Jason's shoulder. I am so happy that I wasn't around when this big dinosaur alive, so at least I wouldn't be his dessert. Or else.
Marine Corps Marathon 2006Marine Corps Marathon 2006
Marine Corps Marathon 2006

Can I fly all 26.2 miles along with the runners? This is the starting point in Arlington, Virginia.
Finisher's medalFinisher's medal
Finisher's medal

Ah, Halef finishes his Marathon, and I am wearing the finisher's medal in his honor.
JFK burial siteJFK burial site
JFK burial site

I am paying respect for the Kennedys. Behind me is an eternal flame lit by Jacky Kennedy during JFK's burial.
Arlington National CemeteryArlington National Cemetery
Arlington National Cemetery

I am sitting on a post with rows of gravestone behind me.
Korean War Veteran MemorialKorean War Veteran Memorial
Korean War Veteran Memorial

Err this is kind of spooky, even for a brave Cy like myself.
FDR MemorialFDR Memorial
FDR Memorial

I found a nice resting place on top of Fala's head.
DC's subway stationDC's subway station
DC's subway station

A distinctive design of DC's subway station vault. Here I am right before entering my subway car.


Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb