All the Best Laid Plans


Advertisement
Published: July 12th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Ah my dear friends and family:

You know what they say about all of the best laid plans...

In my last post, I detailed the plans and path surrounding my Master's International candidacy and upcoming Peace Corps service. That post marked my original departure date as July 22, but - as many of you have been aware - that date was later moved to, well, Thursday, July 14. That being the case, I think all of us expected this post to look a little different than it's about to.

This platform seemed the most appropriate to make my final, firm announcement that those plans - yet again - have changed.

On June 30, I received a phone call from Peace Corps explaining to me that my legal clearance had not been processed due to an administrative error on their end. I was told that it was highly unlikely, therefore, that I would be cleared to depart with my current placement. I was given the option to standby for another placement, but that a new departure was not likely to happen for another 6 months. By the time I got off the phone, I had already started processing next steps and alternatives -- none of which, in my mind, involved waiting for that new placement.

As I also detailed in my last post, this was not my first go-around with the Peace Corps application process. And, in my family, we have a saying that you can only beat your head against the same wall so many times before you eventually need to get a new wall. So, I took this as a sign that it is time to get a new wall.

As such, I've decided to hang up the ol' turtle shell travel backpack for awhile, put the dusty ol' trekking shoes on the shelf and plant my feet right here in Washington, DC. The roots that - as I've explained to many of you - I've never really felt anywhere are starting to grow here, especially as my family has started to grow; and on the academic and professional front, the doors that opened as the PC door closed are looking pretty glorious right now.

So, rather than being my first post on my way to Cambodia, this is - instead - my last travel blog for a bit. It's been wonderful sharing my adventures with all of you and I will forever be grateful for the endless support and cheers that I have received from you along the way!

And, just for old times' sake: Godspeed, y'all. I'll see you out there.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0818s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb