Washington DC


Advertisement
Published: March 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Washington, DC is AMAZING! It’s got a plethora of museums. Seriously, you can't walk around without bumping into one. So for a notorious museum whore like me, I was in heaven. The National Wall is where its all at. So much to do, so much to see, so little time. I spent 3 days here while Colby went to a conference. I had most of the day alone to roam around and see things.

On top of that list was the Hope Diamond. I'd been obsessed with it since I was a kid especially since it was rumored to be cursed and bring bad luck to the wearer! Oh to be able to wear it just for 1 minute and run through a death obstacle course!

The Hope Diamond is ultra shiny. It really shines. It’s shiny. Really. My only complaint was that they had it outside of its harness necklace so that it could be showcased alone. But still, it was a dream come true to see it.

I spent the rest of my time there going to as many museums as I could. By the end of the three days my eyes were bloodshot from taking in so much art and artifacts and history. I went to the Smithsonian and the American History Museum. I saw the original Star-Spangled Banner (where the docent kept hounding me and thinking I was going to get a snap shot of the grand old flag.) I saw fossils and rocks and minerals and specimens.

I saw art and portraits and airplanes and mummies.

Monuments also played a big part in my visit. Of course I saw the Washington Monument and the Lincoln Memorial. I like the Lincoln Memorial since it felt grand and powerful. The statue is HUGE. Plus hanging out on the steps and people watching was a pleasurable experience. The Korean and Vietnam Memorials were also magnificent to look at.

I took a half-day trip to Arlington National Cemetery as well. There were lots of famous graves there. Then walked around the fortified White House. I now wish I could of protested for something. Maybe for more funding for Cat Cancer or something.

Before we left I just had to head back to the Museum of Natural History to take one last look at the Hope Diamond. I bid it farewell and took with me the memory of its shine.


Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb