Truckeroo~Food Trucks!!!


Advertisement
Published: October 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

FOOD!!!! I love food!! I have always wanted to go to a Food Truck Festival. So I did. Me and a friend flew out to D.C for the day to attend Truckeroo4.
Very easy. Flew into Reagan Airport and hopped on the metro to the Navy Yard Station. We bought a day pass for the ease. Cost was 9.00 each.
Once you get off the metro at Navy Yard, take a right and go about 2 blocks. Hang a left and you are there.
I forgot to count the trucks but I would guesstimate there being about 25. I was looking for something asian noodley, but that wasn't there. No biggie. There was plenty of other food to choose from!
Prices were decent. About what you would expect from a food/street vendor. Beers were 6.00 a bottle. Same price as on the airplane.
We started out with the 5 shrimps on a stick with a breadstick from STIX. Those were YUMMY!! I was so hungry and excited, I forgot to take a picture of that. We then moved over to the grilled cheese sandwiches. Got one with rice, cheese, guacamole and jalapenos. Weird, but good. Bread was nice and crunchy and
DinnerDinnerDinner

Dinner time.....Slice of pizza from DC Slices and Mac N Cheese from CAPnMAC
did not flip apart on you. Then moved over to the Shrimp Po'boys. Yummy as well. Especially the bread. I love my bread crunchy.
We thought after eating that, we would take the metro back up to the Smithsonian stop and walk off some of this food. It was an absolutely gorgeous day for this!
Once we figured we burned off enough calories to be able to eat more, we once again headed back to Truckeroo. I went and got a slice of sausage and onion pizza with dried basil from DC Slices. That slice was 4.00 for a generous size slice! Was pretty yummy, except I think the sauce could use a little more flavor. Sausage was thinly sliced and really good! Swung by CAPnMAC for mac and cheese. This was crazy unique. Macaroni and cheese with pimento, topped with shredded cheddar and crushed cheezits. I have to say, when I tried a bite, I thought my taste buds were going to explode from all the flavor!! I joked to my friend that with all the cheese items she had, she wasn't going to be able to poop for a week!!!
Before heading to the airport, we went to
Lincoln MemorialLincoln MemorialLincoln Memorial

On the steps of the Lincoln Memorial.....working off the food to go eat more =)
Justins Cafe for happy hour. She wasn't digging her pilsner but I loved my bloody mary!
Off to the airport we went to catch our return flight back to Minnesota....
A GREAT DAY!!! And I'm looking forward to going to Truckeroo5 in October.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb