Two days in DC


Advertisement
Published: May 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Coastal Flat, TysonsCoastal Flat, TysonsCoastal Flat, Tysons

Dinner with Olivia and Amanda. It was great to see you, ladies!!
My vacation has officially started, but I haven't left the country yet, so it doesn't feel like it. 😊

I spent two days in D.C. before Rachel and I left for Costa Rica. It was very helpful for me, though, because I realized I forgot my camera cables & was able to go to Best Buy and get a memory card reader for cheap. Also had a chance to eat at Chipotle's - yummy. I know we have them in Seattle, but Rachel is the one who introduced me to the chain when we both lived out here so it was quite nostalgic.

The funniest (read: stupidest - and don't get on me about the grammar, either!) thing that happened was using Google Maps to help me navigate the Metro. It worked for me in Chicago & NYC, but had me walk 15 blocks to get to McPherson Sta. which didn't even have the line I needed to get to Columbia Heights. I ended up taking a train to Metro Center and transferring to Chinatown and transferring again. It took awhile (but was still kinda fun). It wasn't until talking with Rachel about it later that I realized the crazy factor. Mt. Vernon sta. is two blocks from her apartment. It has the green line. Columbia Heights is three stops away. Again, say what?!? Anyway, I guess I got my exercise yesterday.

Tonight was great because I was able to meet up with two friends, Olivia and Amanda and go out to eat. We ended up at Coastal Flats and it was good stuff. Opted for the surf & turf (crab cakes & filet mignon) and it was yummy. Gotta keep my iron up for traveling, yes? ^_~

Anywho, this is my tester entry. Feel like I should account for the two missing days, but didn't really do much. It was rainy and cold and (though I didn't live out here long) I still don't feel like a tourist in D.C. or the Metro area (aka: lovely northern VA).

Peace & Love,
Rae

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb