Michael's Christening


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Delaware » Wilmington
February 3rd 2008
Published: March 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Man of the HourThe Man of the HourThe Man of the Hour

My new nephew Michael.
So, after swearing that I would stop flying to the States for the weekend, my nephew’s christening seemed like a good exception to the rule so off I went. I left a wet and dreary London and arrived eight hours later in wet and dreary Philadelphia. The difference, however, is two fold. One - it stays lighter a bit later, which is a good thing this time of year. Two - I get to see my family.

I am on a bit of a budget kick these days, so for the first time in a long time I flew out in the back of the plane. I was very interested in the difference. For one thing, instead of fawning all over you, the flight attendants treat you like a naughty school child. I had the audacity to ask for a glass of water. You would have thought I had asked them to open the hatch so I could jump out of the plane. Oh well, I read and watched part of a movie and arrived safely - about all one can ask for when one is trying to save money!

My brother picked me up, although it nearly cost
AtiliosAtiliosAtilios

Mom, Lynn and me at our favourite!
him a ticket as we were on the wrong side of the terminal. He sweet talked the lady cop and managed to get away with our little transgression, so all was well. Mom arrived at the house and we spent a couple of hours playing with the kids. They are so much fun. Isabelle is now two and has quite a personality. Michael is the sweetest little boy. He just sat on my lap and laughed.

Mom and I then went out for dinner to a great seafood house called Deep Blue. We had oysters and mussels, both of which were delicious. This was a wonderful time for me. Because I get to see my family so seldom, I never get one-on-one time with my mom as there is usually so much else going on. In fact, the last time was when she came to London on her own because Lynn had to work - that was in 2003. It was such a treat for me to sit in a great restaurant, eat good food, drink good wine and have my mom all to myself. Even while it was happening, I was in the moment and was so happy.
The Bohner CrewThe Bohner CrewThe Bohner Crew

And what a team we are!
I am one of the lucky ones who actually likes her mother and am able to confide in her. Believe me, I do not take this for granted.

I managed to sleep until 8.45, which is a wonderful thing when fighting jet lag. After a bit of quiet morning, my brother picked me up again and he and I went for lunch. We went to Elizabeth’s, a place where one can create one’s own salad and pizza. Fabulous! We spent a long time over our lunch, catching up and putting our world to rights. I am so lucky to have a brother like Russ - smart, funny and nice. I really love spending time with him.

Back to the hotel to catch up on some personal admin and have a bit of a rest. Kate arrived safely, and then Mom and I drove back to Philadelphia to pick up Lynn. A miracle that she got in as the weather had really turned. It was pouring rain and the fog had settled in. But, landed she did.

Kate had decided that she would skip dinner, so Mom, Lynn and I decided to go to our favourite local restaurant
Three GenerationsThree GenerationsThree Generations

Mom, me, Isabelle.
in Wilmington. It is called Atilios and has been in the area for as long as I can remember. Family run, Italian and the best spaghetti with white clam sauce this side of the Atlantic. They also do fried peppers and smelts, without which, a trip to Delaware is just not complete.

Absolutely stuffed to the gills, we got back to the hotel and I went right to bed. Which is all fine and good, until Saturday morning when I woke up at 5.00 and realised that I had slept for nearly eight hours and probably wasn’t going to sleep any more.

Spent a relatively quiet morning, before Mom, Lynn, Kate and I went to meet Russ and the kids for breakfast. Then, another wonderful time. Russ, Kate and I went to the market together to buy the food for tonight’s event. I honesty cannot remember the last time the three of us were alone together. We had so much fun -which is saying something considering we were shopping. And, boy, did our personalities come through. What a team! Russ was the sergeant major giving us our tasks. I had the list (what joy!!) and could tick things off as we bought them. Kate ran around and picked up the things that had been forgotten along the way. It was a seamless campaign, and the three of us laughed and told stories and reminisced. I never thought I could have so much fun in a supermarket.

Everyone else decided that a nap was in order, but I was not tired. While they all retired to their rooms, I went for a long walk around the town. Not the best walk I have ever been on, but I got some exercise and was able to remember some of the reasons that I no longer live in Delaware. I did, however, walk past the building that began my insurance career. It seems so long ago now and I have come so far. But, it was where I got my start so I decided that it deserved a bit of homage - especially as I am approaching 23 years in the business and I have been with my current company 10.

We all trooped back to Russ and Diane’s house for dinner. Diane’s family turned up which was nice, as I had not seen them for a long time.
Isabelle and Her MumIsabelle and Her MumIsabelle and Her Mum

Playing with one of the Christmas presents.
Russ cooked burgers on the barbeque, we ate what we had bought on our excursion and we laughed a lot. I got to play with my niece and my nephew and, just generally, life was good.

We got back to the hotel relatively early, so Lynn and I decamped to the bar. Over a few glasses of wine, we chatted about the world at large and our role in it. I have had two stepmothers in my life. I know a good one when I have one - and have one I do. Lynn is one of the best women I know; she is smart, she is kind and she is loving. She took on a full-grown family (at their worst when she came on board) and has never looked back. I have told her many times that, if I am ever in the situation she found herself in, I hope I will act with the same grace and class she did. She is, without exception, the best.

As I was sitting in my room typing this (long after I should I have been in bed), there was a knock on my door. Kate came looking for cigarettes.
The BohnersThe BohnersThe Bohners

Or at least most of us. We weren't able to get a shot of us all.
Yes - I have a partner in crime. We decided to walk outside (the US has become impossible for people who smoke) and had a chat in the cold while we fed our nicotine habits. So - I was four for four. I got to spend quality alone time with every member of my family. Not a bad result!

Sunday morning, the day of the big event, dawned bright and clear. Absolutely gorgeous day - it almost felt as though spring was on the way. I had to keep reminding myself that I was going home to the dark and the cold, but I enjoyed the day while I had it.

The reason for the trip was my nephew’s christening. It was a lovely service as Russ and Diane had chosen to have it happen during the children’s service. The children in the congregation all sang a song, and the priest who baptised Michael based his sermon on the kids. It was really nice, especially as he kept the kids around the altar and invited us up while he did the actual baptism. Really very special to be that close during the event.

After the service, we spent about an hour at the church. I’m here to tell you that being “Father Russ’ sister” brings me a certain celebrity status. I quite enjoy it - as it is as close as I will ever come to the real thing. We then all trooped over to an Italian restaurant for antipasto and chicken. Very yummy food, but I got up from the table well aware that I had eaten a full meal.

After saying goodbye to Russ, Diane and the kids, the rest of us headed back to the hotel. It turned out that Obama was doing a rally in the square right next to the hotel. Lynn and I didn’t even bother to draw breath. We jumped out of the car and dashed over to have a look. What an exciting thing to be a part of. The man had thousands of people cheering him on and the atmosphere was electric. I got close enough that I could actually see him, and felt part of the American political process for the first time in my life. This was my first political rally ever. I now understand a bit how people get so swept up by a
The RallyThe RallyThe Rally

A shot of the crowd.
candidate.

The other thing I found so interesting was the Secret Service. They were EVERYWHERE, and that was just the ones who were not blending in with the crowd. On the roof opposite the square were three men with rifles. I pointed them out to Lynn saying, “Look - there are the snipers.” An older woman in the crowd turned to me and says, “They are not snipers. They are sharpshooters. Snipers are the bad guys!” I assured her that I stood corrected.

Lynn and I were very pumped up at the end, so we decided to have a walk to calm down and burn some of the calories we had consumed at lunch. We walked down along the river in the sunshine - the perfect end to the weekend.

I am now in the Philadelphia airport - and it is a ghost town. Tonight is the Super Bowl, so there is literally no one here. There was not a single person waiting to go through security and the lounge is nearly empty. In fact, according to the very nice young man who checked me in, there are only 48 people on my flight. As such, I
The RallyThe RallyThe Rally

If you look very closely, you can see the man himself.
have taken a chance and changed my ticket to economy to save the miles I spent to upgrade. He assures me that I will have an entire row to myself and will, therefore, be able to sleep flat. I’ll let you know how I get on.

How I got on? About two hours of sleep, but better than none. However, the upgrade would have been literally ten times the price, so I am tired but feeling virtuous. Should be an interesting day and week!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

The SnipersThe Snipers
The Snipers

I mean, the sharpshooters!


Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0784s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb