24 lbs


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Delaware » Newark
June 5th 2007
Published: June 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

so i packed 99.9% of my pack, the only things left out are the essentials - passport, ticket to zambia (which i won't need until sept 5, how many bets on me losing it before then?), camera and a few toiletries so i don't look too special coming off the plane in dublin. and the best part - my pack weighs in at 23.5 lbs. so i am cheating a bit - i don't have full water bottles yet and of course no food (i've heard that it's not too hard to come by in europe) but i'm pysched that even with my tent and sleeping bag, it's still less than 25 lbs. hard to imagine that i'll be living out of that for the next 8 months or so. good thing i don't have super-high standards of hygiene, as long as someone else smells worse than you, it's all good 😊 i'm realizing how much 'stuff' i have and how much is either unnecesssary or that i take for granted, mainly clothes, but lots of convenience things. actively choosing to not use things has been hard, but the fact that i am carrying everything makes the decision a bit easier - less stuff really just means that i can see and do a lot more.

so i'll land in dublin on wednesday morning, meet up with my cousin at night and then head into the city. and i have to admit that after having my oral defense a week and a half ago, packing up, going back to the east coast, and then planning a trip to europe and africa in a very short week, i'm ready for a guiness. a bit of poor planning on my part, but seriously, when do i not do anything last minute and by the seat of my pants?



Advertisement



5th June 2007

Good luck!
Hello Kristin. I wish you all the best for this trip. Enjoy every second of it! Travel IS life!
5th June 2007

God's Speed
Dear Kristin, When you see Bono could you tell him that I liked his sermon and that there's a pastor in Southern California who thinks he has a future as a preacher. And if you could get him to tell the Edge he doesn't have to wear the stocking caps; that bald is indeed beautiful. Enjoy your trip, and enjoy the Guiness! God bless you! Charlie
5th June 2007

Kick ass!!
What you are doing is awesome. I've always wanted to go on a backpack trip through Europe. You are my new hero-write down all the details so i can take notes for whenever I go on my adventure....
6th June 2007

Yes
You is crazy woman! I woke up from a dream an hour ago, about you and me, including Tom from Hangar18. I wish you love and will see you on wed. Be safe strong and smart. Have fun. Congratulations on getting all that done so fast. Probably would have been easier without your fantastic distraction. 24lbs! Very nice. High five! Marc

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0851s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb