Epilog: There and back again...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado
April 6th 2011
Published: April 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

March 30, 2011 - Homeward Bound
Chad and I said our good-byes to Nigel and Tamara last night. We had to leave early in the morning for the airport. My alarm was set for 3:45. I didn't need it.
At 3:30 I was awake and ready to go. I find my emotions a bit contradictory. Sad to be going, yet excited that we're leaving. The van picks us up right on time, at 4:00. Soon we've been dropped at Auckland International Airport, and have gone through security.
Having been away from my friends and family for so long, I'm ready to return. I'm not sure exactly what my life has in store for me when I get back to America, but it sure feels good to be going home. At 7:15 the plane rolled down the runway, and I bid New Zealand farewell.
For now.
A short flight later, and I'm sitting in the airport in Brisbane, Australia. We'll be leaving for L.A. soon. It'll be a long flight, but the end justifies the tedium. I can see the plane.
Time to go. Next stop: America. Let's kick this pig!

Okay... wow, that was a long flight. I didn't even attempt sleeping. Instead, I watched about five movies in a row. Turns out staring intently at a small screen for around 11 hours straight is a wee bit painful. Provided my eyes don't spontaneously begin bleeding from it, I should be alright.
Chad and I have just cleared customs, and are now officially back in the United States. Andrew was on a different flight, so we're waiting for him to meet us. Almost home! Just one more short jump from L.A. to Denver.

And that was one week ago. Our New Zealand adventure was over. We touched down in Denver, and made our way to collect our packs. There Andrew and I were met by our parents. They were very glad to see us back home. They were certainly surprised at how I looked.
While in New Zealand I had lost approximately 50 lbs (that's just a bit over 22 kg). Significant. To say that I look a slight different now, then when I departed would not quite cover it. This is the best shape I've been in in... well ever I suppose. I'm not going to let it go.
When I arrived for the start of my epic adventure, I had a hard time and struggled mightily. I changed over the months I spent walking. Carrying a loaded backpack around will do that. When I began my journey I was constantly failing to come anywhere near the suggested walking times. By the end of our trip, we were consistently beating them. I'd look at a mountain pass or difficult path and think to myself, "bring it on", confident in my ability to conquer it.
In addition to my physical metamorphosis, I sense that this trip has changed me on a mental level as well. Really at this point it's too early for me to codify in words exactly how. As elusive as this may be and difficult to describe, I find that I cannot but be aware that there is something different.
So, where do I go from here? Not entirely sure. I've got myself a good idea of my starting direction, but after that? Well, who knows. I'm comfortable with that. This has always been about the journey, not the destination. I may not know entirely where I'm going, but I'm not afraid to get there. If this adventure has taught me anything, it's this. There's always another horizon. Always another destination. Getting there is the fun part. Now when I look at a new horizon I smile. I know that I can reach it, and go beyond.
I'd like to close by taking a moment to thank all my new Kiwi friends for your hospitality and your kindness. If for no other reason, I must return to New Zealand to visit all of you. This trip was everything I hoped it would be, and far more then I imagined it could be. It was eye opening, and life altering.
As of today, I've been back in America for one week. My New Zealand adventure may be over, but I shall forever remember how I went all the way. Challenges arose, were overcome and in the end I made it. There and back again.


Advertisement



7th April 2011

Welcome Back
Welcome Back! You're quite the inspiration!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb