07 Ridin' The Rockies HOG Tour - #6 Cripple Creek


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado
June 27th 2007
Published: June 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Cripple Creek Route

It was a round trip back to the hotel.

Cripple Creek Route
Cindy Dietz
I participated in the Ridin’ the Rockies HOG Touring Rally that was held June 25-28, 2007. The plan for the week was to spend some time with my cousins before the rally started then take the long way home after the rally. I rode my 2005 833 Sportster from KC to the rally and back home. The following is a ride report of the ride. It is divided in to parts because of the pictures.

Wednesday 27 June 07
Slept in until 8 am this morning, hey I’m on vacation! One of the neat things (few neat things) about this Days Inn is the carports. They have a bunch of car ports that are first come, first serve for the hotel guests. I managed to get a car port every night I stayed here. Any hotel that keeps my bike under cover is raised in standing a few notches.

I was on the road by 9AM but didn’t see a lot of HDs on the road, saw a lot pulled over at diners and bars. The schedule today is Cripple Creek. Cripple Creek had closed Main street for only HOG parking. I took a few pictures. They really made us feel welcome. After Cripple Creek I headed to Falcon, CO. Falcon of course is a Road Kill Safari stop.

I intended to stop in Flourence on the way back to Breckenridge to see the Super MAX prison and the Fossil National Monument Park. But the weather was turning bad, so I opted to head straight back to the hotel. Before I get off of HWY24 it starts to rain pretty good. I pulled into a church with a covered unloading area at the door and take off my rain coat so I can put on my rain pants. I hate putting on my rain pants. It rained for about 20 minutes, a dog and cats rain, big heavy drops being thrown from the sky. After the rain I was on dry roads again. I got back to the hotel about 6PM. My Atlanta buddy was here waiting for me when I got back to the hotel. We talked again comparing notes from the day. He was back hours before me. He had gone to Cripple Creek rode down the main street, decided he had seen all he needed to, and came back to the hotel. I stayed and had a couple beer brats from Andy’s Hotdog stand. It was pretty good. I found a wooden eagle for Renee and a patch for my jacket. About another 100 miles was added for my detour to Falcon.

317 miles for the day.

The first part of this trip is here: 07 Ridin' The Rockies HOG Tour - #1 getting to CO


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb