4th and 5th Week in Colorado


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado
October 2nd 2021
Published: October 12th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Well 3 weeks broke my previous record but I think all my other travel blogs had about 3 or 4 entries in a shorter time. I'm back! Let's see if I can remember what I did...

Sept 26-Oct 1 work threw some mandatory OT on us for the first time ever. I am still working a full time job through all of this after all! So had some long work days. Also checked out a monthly discussion group in the denver poly group. Had some online virtual socialization with people and took copper for some local walks and hikes. The extra work, and lack of much exciting going on made me fall of the travel blog wagon. Now 2 weeks later I'm wondering if there was anything else I did??? Not sure at this point...

Oct 2: I turned another year older at Rocky Mountain National Park! I was above 12,304 feet at one point (there was a marker for that height but I went higher!). Such fantastic views, and wildlife. Definitely the best national park I've visited so far but still plenty to go! At the start of the day the Alpine visitor center and road were closed due to ice but they opened back up by late morning. I wished I could have gone back another day or gone earlier in my stay but was only able to obtain a timed entry pass for 1 day in October. Rocky mountain is definitely on the list of places to return to

Oct 3: Went up to Georgetown and went on a scenic train ride and saw lots of good fall color. Also a good brunch in town. Came back and had a short but sweet family zoom call.

Oct 5-6: Before I decided to embark on this nomad journey I bought tickets for the broadway touring show of Hamilton which was in Phoenix. I said "what will I be doing on a random Tuesday night in October let's do this." So I flew back to Phoenix and was able to catch up with friends and see Hamilton!

Oct 7: Checked out another Denver brewery. Denver definitely had some good beer!

Oct 8: work and packing to depart Colorado!

Oct 9: Travel day to Wichita, Kansas- about 500 miles. I definitely understand why people who drive through Kansas on the 70 say it is boring and nothing but agriculture... the interstate definitely is! I was also told how flat Kansas is... but it's one of those things you really have to experience yourself and see how flat it is to understand!

Next week will be all about Kansas 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb