Driving in Colorado Part 3


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Vail
December 11th 2009
Published: December 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Vail

We were pleasantly surprised to find Austria on the way to Aspen when we decided to make an ice-cream stop. Vail, a ski resort town, had to be designed by a home-sick Austrian architect. It features the wooden Austrian bridge that goes over a creek, narrow roads, Alpine houses and condos with ornate shields, crests, and flags and colorful and fragrant flowers on the windows.

At around two thousand dollars per square feet, I could own a tiny piece of a small Austrian ski village replica. The dining options are stupendous in this town. There are many great places to fulfill the craving for International delicacies; casual Mexican, gourmet French, classic Continental, timeless Italian, old-fashioned steakhouses, Asian fusion, and Swiss fondue. If I were an avid skier and I lived here, I would ski down the slope to my favorite restaurants an lounges; unclipping the skis would be too much of a hassle for me.


Glenwood Canyon

Everyone should drive through Glenwood Canyon on I-70. It is not just the thin air that takes your breath away, but the view really makes your lungs run on overdrive. No matter where I looked, I was surrounded by giant rocks. Being in this canyon, I felt as if I were viewing Ansel Adams pictures in an IMAX theater in color.
Unfortunately, I could not really find good angles to take pictures at this canyon because I had to stay with the flow of traffic. The only place to stop is the emergency lane. The late afternoon sun and the clouds created the most beautiful shadow show. Even the best Hollywood special effect team would not be able to reproduce the feeling of awe that I got from this majestic scenery..@driving-vacation

More pictures...




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.323s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0916s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb