Kremmling to Steamboat to Rabbit Ears Pass dispersed campground


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Steamboat Springs
September 11th 2011
Published: September 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My dispersed campground East of Steamboat - FreeMy dispersed campground East of Steamboat - FreeMy dispersed campground East of Steamboat - Free

This free campground was on Forrest rd 100 East of Steamboat on Rabbit Ears Pass. I had it to myself.
September 11 Kremmling-Steamboat Springs to Rabbit Ears Pass dispersed Campground
Morning - Today I am backtracking a little and going Northwest on Hwy 40 to Muddy Pass (8,772 ft) and then Northeast on Hwy 14 to Walden and then East on 14 through the Rosevelt National Forest towards Ft Collins. Don’t know if I will make it to Ft Collins. I will probably stop somewhere along the way.
That’s the Plan anyway. It’s a beautiful day here in Kremmling and 45degrees at 9AM.
Guess I had better load up and get moving. Checkout time here is 10AM.
Midday - Stopped at Rabbit Ears Pass dispersed campground to think things over. If I go into Steamboat again this will be my free campground tonight (9479 ft.). After looking Steamboat over again I will come back here to camp and be in good position to head up over Muddy Pass and Hwy 14 and the Roosevelt National Forest tomorrow.
Sept 11- Evening
Invested most of today exploring Steamboat Springs again. It is surrounded by some beautiful mountains and lots of ski slopes. The Yampa River runs through it over which there is a pedestrian bridge with bike and hike trails and river access.
I did the tourist thing for once after I checked out the river and parks alongside it. I browsed through some of the shops and even bought a T-shirt. I also checked out the hot springs for future reference. Then I went to The Rio Grande Restaurant that served Tex-Mex food. It was very good and lots of it. After touring the town I climbed back up the pass to 9300 feet or so on the Rabbit Ears Pass to my campground for the night in the Routt National Forest. Free dispersed camping of course. My campsite is on a hill overlooking a mountain meadow and a small lake. Guess tomorrow I will head up Hwy 14 into the Roosevelt National Forest.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The Rio Grand RestaurantThe Rio Grand Restaurant
The Rio Grand Restaurant

The rio Grand Restaurant has seating on the roof and Tex-Mex Mexican food.


Tot: 0.555s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 79; dbt: 0.2177s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb