Day 2: Steamed Strawberries


Advertisement
Published: August 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Above the White RiverAbove the White RiverAbove the White River

Hmmmmmmmmm.....
Deep in the mountains I sit inside a hut made of stone and mortar, held up by a lodge-pole pine roof with whole trees beams. It's quiet except for the constant sound of the little waterfall behind me flowing through an opening into the slope the structure is built into. The water flows quickly into a crevice behind my rock chair and finally into a vented tunnel under my feet. Even in the early morning darkness, I can see the steam drifting upwards and out into the forest above the empty hot springs below me. I dip another towel into the waterfall, and cover myself once more against the cold air, sitting silently. I choke a scream as the 130 degree or so water from the towel cascades down chest and legs. The heat passes, and I relax once again. Where am I? Japan? A dream?
------

Strawberry Park Hot Springs is located a few miles into the mountains above Steamboat Springs, Colorado. Yesterday, on arriving in Steamboat, I somehow never connected the name of the city to the existence of hot springs. Fortunately, the ranger station quickly recommended this warm oasis, and our crew, Boaz , Aytonn , and I headed uphill. We arrived to a packed parking lot in the middle of nowhere. We managed to get a camping site, because someone who had reserved the site left. Thus we found ourselves setting up the clumsy tent next to a running stream, that was warmed up by the hot springs a few hundred meters up, and we were all very very pleased.

We move on!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb