Overnight Stop in Snowmass Village


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Snowmass VillageSnowmass VillageSnowmass Village

We sat and listened to a bluegrass band play for a bit. They never announced the name of their group, and their were no signs advertising who they were. We enjoyed listening, though!
Andrew and I scored a pretty good deal at the Westin Snowmass Resort, so we set out for Snowmass Village after we finished our hike at Hanging Lake. Snowmass is just off of Aspen. Neither of us had ever been, but we heard positive things from friends and coworkers.

We weren't quite sure what the hype was about. Snowmass was very suburban. There was a well-manicured outdoor mall with big names like Northface, Starbucks, Christy Sports, and Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory. I have no problem with any of those companies or stores, but I figured I might as well have been shopping at a mall anywhere in the country. I'm not very sure why people would drive up to the mountains for that.

We still had a good time, though. Our hotel was right at the end of the mall. We strolled along the outdoor mall and got an ice cream cone from Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory. After that, we looped back and listened to a blue grass band play. They covered a lot of Eric Clapton hits. I bobbed to the music, ate my cone, and enjoyed a light sprinkle. After that, we warmed up at our hotel's hot tub. Our whole experience there was nice and relaxing (which is what we wanted for our weekend away!), but nothing to write home about. I love driving up in the mountains, and I love spending a weekend in the mountains. I just don't see the point of going up to the mountains just to do the things we could do back home! I can't see us ever staying in Snowmass Village again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 18; qc: 79; dbt: 0.1347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb