Trip from Denver to Steamboat Springs via Leadville


Advertisement
Published: July 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Denver to Leadville

Out of Denver to the Eisenhower tunnel and over Loveland Pass to Dillon and Frisco. Then back on I-70 to Wheeler Junction and then South on Co. 91 to Leadville. Then out to Turquoise Lake to the Molly Brown Campground.

I-70 East of the Eisenhower TunnelI-70 East of the Eisenhower TunnelI-70 East of the Eisenhower Tunnel

I turned off on US 6 just east of the Eisenhower Tunnel to take the road over Loveland Pass.
Trip from Denver to Steamboat Springs via Leadville – Monday July 8 -I had invested most of the weekend preparing for this trip to Leadville, Turquoise Lake, and Steamboat Springs. I had a lot of my stuff set by the door for loading in my truck this morning but when I got up I was feeling kind of sluggish and so it was slow going getting ready to leave. I really felt like just drinking my tea and thinking things over and leave tomorrow but with all the preparations I had put in I felt I needed to get going. So I dutifully finished loading up my stuff in the truck and packed and loaded up my cooler and backpack. My backpack had a insulated cooler bag that I put a couple of frozen water bottles in and some bottled water from my fridge. I also put in some cheese and crackers as well as a sandwich etc. in the middle compartment. This will be my “picnic lunch” for later. I put what I wanted in my cooler and filled it up the rest of the way with frozen water bottles and some refrigerated water bottles.

I finished packing everything in the truck and visited with my nephew a bit and finally got out the door at around noon.

I decided since I had such a late start to skip the planned side trip to Red Rock Amphitheatre and Evergreen so I just took 470 to I-70 and headed West. I stopped at the buffalo overlook off of I-70 but didn’t see any buffalo and then kept going west. I noticed the sign on the side of I-70 saying Twin Tunnels East of Idaho Springs blasting starts today at 1PM. So I pushed it a bit and made it through the Twin Tunnels at 10 minutes to 1:00 which was good. I sure didn’t want to get caught at the tunnel when it closed for blasting or clearing off the rock, etc.

http://www.coloradodot.info/projects/i70twintunnels - Tunnel closure info.

So after I got passed the Twin Tunnels I continued on to the Eisenhower Tunnel and took the exit just East of the Tunnel on US Route 6 that went over Loveland Pass. There must have been some kind of delay in the Eisenhower Tunnel since traffic was sitting still all the way back to the exit for Loveland Pass.
Woman BikerWoman BikerWoman Biker

Every time I stopped to admire the view this woman bicyclist passed me.


The road going up and Over Loveland Pass was steep and filled with switchbacks but it was also very scenic. I had the usual problem with those stupid people in their little cars behind me. The speed limit said 25mph and some of the curves were 20mph or even 15mph and I always went the speed limit and this aggravated the people to death behind me. I had idiots 3 feet behind my bumper most of the way. Of course whenever I could safely pull over on a turnout to let them by I did so.

There were several scenic overlooks on the way up. All the way up the pass I went by men and women on bicycles slowly riding them up the pass on the little narrow space of about 2 feet of pavement on the side of the road marked off with paint. When I stopped at an overlook a very athletic woman would pass me and then I would pass her again on the way up. When I got to the top of the pass and the overlook there, she and her boyfriend came in a bit later. I walked by them and she was telling him her water bottle was empty. So I offered to refill their water bottles from my supply of refilled Ozarka 1.5 liter bottles. They thanked me and I refilled their bottles for them. They sure deserved it. They had to be some truly amazing people to ride a bike up to the top of Loveland pass.

After enjoying the view from the top of the pass I eased down the west side to Keystone and Dillon. I eased around both town having a bit of a look and then did the same at Frisco. They are all three kind of neat, clean little cities. In Frisco I eased through Main Street checking out the shops and restaurants and then eased back up onto I-70 and head West.

It didn’t take me long to get to Wheeler Jct. where I headed off on Co. 91 towards Leadville. It was a scenic road and part of the “Top of the Rockies Scenic Byway”. Co. 91 merges with US 24 just north of Leadville.

After I got to Leadville, I stopped at the Safeway for a few groceries (annoyed that I hadn’t done this shopping in Denver where
Some amazing bicyclistSome amazing bicyclistSome amazing bicyclist

These people had just cycled to the top of Loveland Pass and were resting a bit and then heading back down again.
it was cheaper) and then did a quick drive through of the town. It was kind of a neat little town and after a bit I found the NFS station a bit south of the town which was closed. I then made my way out on Co. Rd. 4 which was next to the Ranger Station, for quite a long way and then went North on Co. Rd. 9C checking out some campgrounds but staying at the Molly Brown Campground because it was right next to the lake. The campsites had the usual Reserved signs on them but I checked the dates and found a few that the first reservation marked was over and the next one was not for a couple of days. So I picked the best one and pulled in and set out my red bag full of low value items on the table and started filling out the pay envelope. It was $18 a night and so for me with my Senior Parks Pass it was 18/2 = $9.00. So in a bit the park host came by and I verified to be sure that there was no late reservation on my site and there wasn’t so I gave her the envelope and she gave me a receipt to hang on my mirror.

The water line for the Molly Brown Campground was broken so there was no water but that wasn’t a problem for me because I had my 4 Ozarka 1.5 L water bottle refills with me.

I walked down to the lake and relaxed by the side of it for a bit. It was a dark blue color and not turquoise, but still quite beautiful. There were a few people fishing but I didn’t see anyone catching fish. After enjoying the view and the cool breeze coming off the lake a bit I eased back to my campsite and ate my dinner.

After a bit the mosquitoes started up and I was glad it was cool enough for me to sleep in my truck with the windows rolled completely up, so I didn’t have them bothering me when I went to bed.

So I retired for the evening figuring on meandering my way to Steamboat Springs tomorrow morning.

It had been another good day. : )


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

From the summit looking back down on I-70From the summit looking back down on I-70
From the summit looking back down on I-70

This is looking back down from the summit on I-70 and the circuitous path I had taken to the top.
My campsite for the nightMy campsite for the night
My campsite for the night

My campsite at the Molly Brown Campground, about 50 yards from the lake.


10th July 2013

A fantastic drive
Stunning photos.
11th July 2013

views
Thanks. The views from mountain overlooks are stunning all across Colorado.
11th July 2013

WELL ORGANISED
Hi William You sound very well organised for your trip...I like to do the picnic thing too , and a thermos of hot water for the tea is always a must. Magnificent scenery. Cheers Lynne
11th July 2013

Picnic
Thanks. Having my picnic lunch comes in handy. On this last trip I took it to the overlook of the falls near Steamboat Springs and enjoyed it while enjoying the view of the falls.

Tot: 0.518s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 13; qc: 80; dbt: 0.2043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb