Taking the scenic route to Rocky Mountain National Park


Advertisement
Published: June 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Denver to Long's Peak campground


June 10 – Monday – Over the past weeks I had gathered up tons of brochures, maps, notes etc. and I invested the last 3 days going over and studying them. I have visited dozens of web sites as well. I did this over the weekend because usually on the weekends things are too crowded and so I prefer going during the week when I go somewhere.

So now that it is safe to go out again I will take care of a few details in preparation for my next trip today and head out tomorrow morning. I had intended to go up the Peak to Peak Hwy. to Rocky Mountain National Park and then after visiting the park go on to Steamboat Springs for a bit. But after consideration I decided I will go up the Peak to Peak Hwy tomorrow and then find a good campground in or around Rocky Mountain National park and invest 3-4 days exploring it.

Then I will make my trip to Steamboat Springs and Strawberry Springs later in a trip of its own.

I want to have a good look around the Steamboat Springs area when I go there as I
Beautiful lakeBeautiful lakeBeautiful lake

This beautiful lake was across Hwy 119 from the Kelly-Dahl campground. Unfortunately it is on private property, but there is a large "pull off" area next to the highway where the view can be enjoyed.
intend to spend a week or more there from about 27 June to July 4 for the Cowboy Roundup and 4th of July Celebration. It looks like it would be fun.

www.steamboatsummer.com

Looks like it will be a hot day to day at 94 degrees. At least it is only 10%!h(MISSING)umidity. In any case tomorrow I am heading up into the mountains so it ought to be better up there.



June 11 – Tuesday - I had a good, although a bit challenging drive up the "Peak to Peak" Hwy instead of the more usual (and advertised) route though Bolder or Golden. The "Peak to Peak Hwy was a bit challenging but very scenic.

I checked out the Kelly-Dahl campground on the way because the Rough Guide to Colorado said it had "pretty lakeside sites". I drove around in it but didn't find a lake. The only lake I found was across Hwy 119 on Private Property with the usual no trespassing signs. It was a beautiful lake with the mountains for a background. A nice place to pause for a break or snack.

There were several campgrounds along the way but I chose to camp at the Long Peak Campground. It is actually a campground for those who are going to climb Longs Peak. There is no danger that I will attempt climbing Longs Peak. : )It was tents only campground and I read in their info sheet that there was no sleeping in vehicles, so I figured out how to set up my tent which I have carried around in the back of my truck for over a year and a half and set it up. It is actually kind of impressive how such a small package can make up into such a big tent.

I haven’t camped in a tent for over 30 years because every time I did it either rained and the tent leaked or it snowed and the tent fell in on me. This happened in Yellowstone where I went to bed with a bit cold weather and woke up when the tent caved in on me from a snow I never heard. It is surprising how snow can sneak up quietly on you like that.

On the same trip in the Black Hills of South Dakota a big storm blew in and knocked my tent down. In both instances I got out of the tent and got into my 1966 Impala and slept there the rest of the night. From then on I always got a van. My first one was a Volkswagen Van while I was stationed in Greece and I really put some miles on it. When I got back from overseas I got a Chevy Van and ran it till I wore it out and then got an extended bed van after that which I drove till I wore it out. I’m pretty sure that is what I will do with my GMC truck with a camper top on it that I have now. However at just 335,450 miles on it I’m just starting to get it broke in. I usually sleep on the drivers seat with the seat folded down and the doors locked. I like doing this because if I hear a noise outside I can raise my head and check things out. When I "boondock" or overnight park in National Forest, Rest Areas or Wal-Mart parking lots I sleep with the key in the ignition.

But I digress…..

After getting the stupid tent set up and made up inside for the night I crawled in for the night. One thing I immediately didn’t like about it was I couldn’t see out of it. I like to know what is going on around me.

The wind was blowing as is usual in the mountains but later on a fierce wind started up and went on for hours. I thought the tent would blow away but it stayed in place. Still with the wind it was noisy and the tent kept flapping and I kept thinking that if it collapsed I would have to deal with moving out of it in the middle of it flapping around with my stuff still in it, so about midnight I said heck with it and moved back into my truck. Much Better!

In the morning the tent was still there, all staked in and secure.

So I guess in 30 years they have improved upon tents but I think I will stick to sleeping in my truck. When I fold the seat back down it is comfortable enough and the weather can do as it wishes. My truck can take it!

And so can I! :
my home for the nightmy home for the nightmy home for the night

At least part of the night anyway. I got up about midnight and moved back into my truck
)

Advertisement



14th June 2013

Car vs Tent
How great that you have a comfy truck for sleeping and a tent for passing in certain campgrounds! I really like your truck seat that folds down for a decent bed. I slept in the backseat of my VW bug for a 3-month trip up the coast from Santa Barbara to Vancouver, and then had a tent and a dog for a year-long visit to national parks. Now that I'm older, the idea of a car/truck suitable for sleeping is very appealing. Great advise--thanks!
15th June 2013

Car/ truck sleeping
Those trips from Santa Barbara to Vancouver and visiting the National Parks "camping" sound like they would have made a great blog. I have "camped" in my truck from Coast to Coast and top to bottom in the US for the past 2 1/2 years (except for 7 months in Europe) and never had any problems. I used Wal Mart parking lots, roadside rest areas (where it was legal to overnight park), National Forest free campsites and now using my Senior Parks Pass where most campsites are only $10 in National Parks and admission to the National Parks free with the parks pass I am camping in National Parks mostly on the current trip. However it is always nice to know that I don't have to push on when I am tired but can find a free "overnight Parking" location when I want it. And MacDonald's ,as well as most libraries is always good for free internet and cheap coffee with unlimited refills.
15th June 2013

Great story...
I always had bad luck camping too...always rained.
15th June 2013

tent camping
I have had the same success with "tenting". Always bad weather or strong winds. I also like that while sleeping in my truck with the doors locked and the key in the ignition if I hear a noise near my truck I can always raise up a bit and check things out. In a tent I was "blinded" to what went on outside.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb