Day 7: Rocky Mountain National Park


Advertisement
Published: July 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I think the photos probably do today more justice than any writing could, so I'll keep it short.
We woke early and drove into the national park, parking near Bear Lake (at over 9,400ft). We then trekked up past the Loch in the direction of Andrew's Glacier, although we couldn't quite reach the end of the trail since (a) I was wearing trainers I had bought in Sports Direct for £19, which didn't really have any grip in the soft snow (b) hikers coming down described the top of the trail as 'terrifying', as the snow was beginning to melt especially where the path crossed over the river, and big chunks were falling off. All very Narnian/Pocohantas. We stopped for a quick picnic of bagels (at about 10,000ft, so pretty high) and then headed down, taking adifferent trail around to Lake Haiyaha. Exciting sights included a woodpecker pecking wood, a chipmunk, elk, and we heard (but couldn't see) a hummingbird. Completely exhausted (my lungs do not agree with altitude) and hoping to escape the thunder storm, we headed back to the car, going past Dream Lake, Nymph Lake and Bear Lake. The latter was pretty packed with tourists (apparently 95% visitors to US national parks never stray more than 1mile from their car). We then drove back along a very scenic pass, although I slept most of the way so I can't really comment.

This evening we went out for cocktails. I had a margarita (my first ever - very yummy) and we watched an incredible thunderstorm from a covered terrace.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Snow!Snow!
Snow!

Not really steep canyon below
Lake HaiyahaLake Haiyaha
Lake Haiyaha

with me being silly


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb